We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place/location & people”
other travellers have booked this property
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
East Briscoe, Teesdale Holiday Cottages
The games room is a large space which can be used for group gatherings.
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave H
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place/location & people”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for 4 nights in July 2015.

Lovely welcome pack inc. plenty of (good) coffee & tea bags, sugar, milk, biscuits, cooking oil, freshly laid eggs !!

Spacious, comfortable accommodation with everything you would normally need from kitchen utensils/pots/pans/toaster/fridge/freezer/dishwasher, books, DVD's, radios, jigsaws, WiFi etc. depending how the weather treats you. Washing m/c's, dryers & washing line at communal washroom.

Some lovely walks including down to the river Balder behind the accommodation. Also a nice picnic spot at the Balderhead Reservoir (the 4WD vehicle notice is a bit OTT so long as you drive slowly/carefully !)

Kids play equipment/trampoline that can be used (with supervision), donkeys to pet, wild rabbits to watch, chickens to feed your spare bread/pasta to, gorgeous friendly family cat & in the near future hot tub/pool/games room.

Well placed just North of the Yorkshire Dales with easy access to the Yorkshire Moors & the Lake District.

Very easy going laid back hosts that have a lovely place + a larger cottage nearby if you need something bigger.

A bit tricky if you take the dog along as have to be kept on the lead, dogs are normally allowed off-lead in the field adjacent to the accommodation which leads down to a small stream & there is also a 'dog toilet' - small grassy enclosure near car-park - overgrown when we were there but just needed cutting. The only tricky part for me was how to let our dog have a last minute pee before bed when we were all in pj's ?!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation in a wonderful setting”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently had a week's holiday at Chris and Emma's East Briscoe Cottages.
The accommodation was clean and well maintained and the location is just stunning.
If you're are looking for a peaceful and beautiful location as a base to visit the very underrated area of Teesdale then this is it.
Chris and Emma are always on hand with advice for places to eat and visit and they really make your stay a special one.
The cottages themselves have everything you need and Chris was kind enough to lend me his bike to explore the local area. I will certainly bring my own bike next time as it's perfect cycling country. Virtually no traffic on the roads and stunning scenery to enjoy.
With the chickens and rabbits as visitors to the garden in front of the cottage, it's just lovely and you feel like you are in another world. It's just so quiet and peaceful. Certainly a world away from Birmingham!
I can't wait to go back and I can't recommend this place enough. Just a fantastic holiday.
Many thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philsmith...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, clean and well appointed”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A fantastically located set of cottages. We stayed in the Low Barn Cottage and were very pleased with the cleanliness of the cottage. We also found that it was very well appointed, plenty of cutlery, crockery, a wide selection of books, and plenty of information about the local area. The cottages are set in a rather attractive piece of countryside, with ample parking and easy access to move kit from the car into the cottage and back again. Having loose chickens on the side added a large degree of entertainment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable, and in beautiful surroundings
Liked least: A couple of stains on the living room carpet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Something special”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Farm Cottage in the half term week, just the two of us looking for a relaxing break. The accommodation is lovely, spotlessly clean and spacious, just as you would expect from looking at the website. What makes the difference at East Briscoe is hard to define, the location is so beautiful with walks around the farmland yet it's handy for things to see and places to eat. The chickens that wander around hoping you might have a crust to share, the wood fires, the free range eggs, the owners who are friendly and ready to make sure everything is as it should be. All of this and more but the thing for us was the absolute silence and complete darkness. We loved it, if you're looking for somewhere as you read this then we would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianah833
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great base from which to explore”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We (family of 4) spent 3 nights in late September in Barn Cottage. We explored each day on foot or by car, and returned to cook each night. The place had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. My 10-year-old loved the chooks (poultry), and both boys enjoyed feeding the donkeys. The old barn is warm and cosy. The main bedroom is generous, the second a bit crowded with 2 beds in it, but has plenty of storage. Showering over the bath led to drips onto the sofa in the living room below but that was being addressed (fix grouting at bath side?). I was impressed with the separate bins for recycling and rubbish, the supply of local information, and the fresh eggs with biscuits awaiting our arrival. I'd love a longer visit to fit in more activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space both inside and outside.
Liked least: Meeting nettles
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 700
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing