We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The finest B&B you're likely to find. Anywhere.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbegin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beverley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbegin House
Ranked #1 of 16 Beverley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The finest B&B you're likely to find. Anywhere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

What a treat. A genuinely happy and relaxing experience. And the perfect place to hang your hat and to lay your head during a visit to beautiful Beverley.

Rooms are situated within a marvellous Georgian property which is bursting with character and quiet charm. Walter, Nuala and their family simply couldn't be more welcoming. Wonderful hosts who are more than happy to help and assist you if you require any assistance during your stay.

My room was all that I could've hoped for... and more. Beautifully and tastefully furnished that immediately made me feel right at home; plenty of drawer and wardrobe space; lovely & clean en-suite shower room; high quality digital radio & widescreen TV; tea & coffee making facilities; fridge containing fresh milk & ground coffee; oh, and not forgetting the comfiest bed that I've ever slept in. Each morning begins with a generous and deliciously cooked breakfast (including fresh fruit and locally sourced produce) that really gears you up for the day ahead.

A true pleasure and I can't wait to having the opportunity to stay there again, which is surely the highest compliment you can pay to any establishment.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yorkshirebound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
168
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

A truly pleasant stay from arrival to the moment we left. We encountered very welcoming and attentive owners, who made us feel at home for the duration of our stay. My partner and I had stayed there before and decided to go back because: it's a beautiful house with gardens and private courtyard to park our car; the room is spacious and the bed is excellent for my injured back.

Room Tip: Excellent bed in the Appleton room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gualtier0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewbeginHouse, Owner at Newbegin House, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
I am glad you enjoyed staying with us again and took the trouble to write a review. We aim to provide top value to our discerning visitors, so that they will come again. We always give a reduced rate for second nights, and 3 night stays with king sized bed and en suite are usually £165, including full Yorkshire breakfast.
Regards,
Walter Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We enjoyed a fabulous Easter weekend in Beverley, which was made even better by staying at this lovely B&B. The bed was very comfortable, with beautiful bedlinen, the shower amazing and the breakfast wonderful - served by the delightful Nuala and Walter, who open their beautiful, quirky home to guests lucky enough to find them!! We could not thank them enough for their wonderful hospitality and for making us feel so welcome. This B&B is a great find in lovely Beverley and we would recommend it to anyone who has the chance to stay. There is also the added advantage of a free parking area behind this property - a great bonus in this town!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydrauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Am hesitant to write this review as I am frequently in Beverley and want to make sure there's always space for me at Newbegin House!

I'm so pleased to have finally found this B&B, after trying pretty much every other place to stay in Beverley. It's quiet (unlike the Kings Head), with a lovely bathroom (unlike the Beverley Arms), and a super breakfast (unlike the Lairgate). The Iveson Room has a very large and comfy bed, and a view out over the garden. (Though the beer fridge is rather noisy and you may want to switch it off overnight.) Walter and Nuala are charming - Nuala makes absolutely sure your sausage sandwich is exactly as you would like it.

Confusingly there are two places on Newbegin called Newbegin House - this is no. 10, on the road, with a B&B sticker in the window. It's not the one hidden behind a large brick wall.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

This place really is a bit special. We were looking for a simple "bed and breakfast" but found ourselves as welcome guests in a lovingly restored Gerogian town house close to the centre of Berverley. The owners have taken great care in furnishing the house to a high standard with period furniture and features. The excellent brekfast, for example, is served in a dining room with an impressively large table and a crystal chandelier. Guests have access to a very comfortable lounge. Our bedroom was excellent, combining old fashioned charm with modern comfort and convenience. Newbegin House is only yards away from the centre of Beverley, but is tucked away on a side street with its own parking. (Parking in Bevereley can be difficult). Although we didn't take advantage of it in February, the house has a large walled garden that guests are welcome to use.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kodachrome25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
12.3 km away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.6 km away
The 5 Eastgate
The 5 Eastgate
#2 of 16 in Beverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbegin House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbegin House

Property: Newbegin House
Address: 10 Newbegin, Beverley HU17 8EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Beverley
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,169 - ₹ 11,674
Hotel Class:5 star — Newbegin House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newbegin House is a beautiful Georgian mansion built in 1746. It is quietly located in a small one way street only 103 yards from Saturday Market, and close to several excellent restaurants and pubs. Free parking is available. The owners Walter and Nuala Sweeney share the house with their three daughters and Walter's parents, who live in a self contained wing. We have three luxurious guest rooms all with pocket sprung king sized beds and a choice of a marble en suite bathroom with heated floor or a fully tiled piping hot shower or a bathroom with overhead shower. The largest room has space for up to three single beds for family use. There is a guests' sitting room where you can enjoy a welcoming tea or coffee on arrival. An award winning breakfast is served in our magnificent dining room, which has shuttered windows and a crystal chandelier. A fine drawing room on the first floor, with a marble fireplace at each end, is available for hire for small conferences and private functions. Uniquely in Beverley, we are 5 star rated with both QIT and the AA, and also have a breakfast award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newbegin House Hotel Beverley
Newbegin House Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing