We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
287
254
93
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
254
93
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brend hotels across the bridge lovely hotel sunday carvery old bridge tarka trail deluxe room traditional hotel breakfast was excellent waiting staff comfortable stay view of the river town centre nice room stayed for one night breakfast and dinner short stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Had the most amazing day, everything was perfect from beginning to end. The food was outstanding the kitchen staff were great. The staff were so attentive, helpfull, supportive and friendly. I could not recomend enough. Thank you so much to them all for making our special day perfect and so memorable xx

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel clean staff semi professional food appalling not even pub food standard could not open window in bathroom no ventilation in there,no blind or curtain at bedroom window anybody on the street in a car or on a bus could see right into our room

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank grin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We went there especially as it’s licated next to the Tarka trail, & we wanted to cycle it. We had the best room in the hotel for the first 3 nights, that was excellent, when we moved to another room, it was not as good. BUT, the stafff are ,on the whole, very helpful,, The hotel, definitely could be in a better position, as it overlooks an awful derelict building, & piece of land. The food was okay, but not, I’m afraid, excellent.
Having said that, it’s not as expensive as other Brend hotels, but with a lot of the advantages of being a Brend

Room Tip: Ask for the best
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Cazann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a wedding for 3 nights. Booked a delux double room which was spacious and came with a bath, bath robes etc. Very comfortable bed! Only thing I would say was the decor was slightly dated but it didn't bother us too much: )
The team at the royal are great. Very friendly and hard working. The cleaning lady was very nice :)
Thank you for a lovely stay we will be back :) X

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beatlebea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal B, Social Media at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review here on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to hear you found your room the be nice and comfortable for you.
I am also glad to hear you found our staff to be hard working and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel again soon.

Once again thank you for leaving us a review.

Kindest Regards
Becky Inch
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

The room was very clean, well decorated, spacious apart from the bathroom which was very small but its an old Hotel. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, the staff very friendly and helpful. overall a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meowminx68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us this lovely review here on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and well decorated.
I am also happy to hear that you thought the breakfast buffet was plentiful and that the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Once again Thanks for the review & we hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Lauren Masters
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews