We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
164
55
4
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
55
4
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel owners were friendly locally sourced ingredients town centre new owners local eateries warm welcome comfortable bed breakfast was excellent cooked breakfast minute walk on arrival full english would highly recommend this hotel guest lounge visiting the area quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this place at the last minute and only stayed two nights but we were very impressed. The room was great (I think the best one I the hotel) with a view over to the river. Owners very helpful and attentive to detail. Breakfast excellent, good wifi, pleasant residents TV lounge etc. and on site car park.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Triffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of September. We were greeted enthusiastically by Steve when we arrived. We were shown to our room and given some very good restaurants tips (Number 8 and Mariners are both unmissable). Our room was large, clean and very comfortable and our hosts were very friendly and a mine of information. It was about a 10 minute walk down into the town and about a £5 back to the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and the coffee was freshly brewed too. Very impressive.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Nicely decorated rooms and dining and lounge area. Very quiet location but only 5 min from Bideford and Appledore. Very comfortable bed - best nights sleep for ages! We were in room 4 (facing over front of hotel) which I think has been recently refurbished. Modern En Suite. Fresh brewed coffee and excellent fried breakfast.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dmcb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We booked this hotel at short notice and for what we wanted this was fine. The owners greeted us on arrival and were extremely polite and helpfull. Once in our room (the one in the picture) we were able to telax. The room is quite large, though the bathroom was a little small. It was clean and well stocked. The room was let down by a tiny tv, the owner said that this was in the process of being changed, this was a minor negative. The bed was comfy and lovely linen,
Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice with freshly cooked to order choices too.
The hotel perhaps coud do with some decoration, but this is minor considering how helpfull the hosts were, so please dont overlook good hospitality over a coat of paint here and there.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I wanted a getaway in North Devon to visit Lundy and the Hartland coastline. Orchard Hill was the perfect base with exceptionally warm and welcoming owners, Steve and Jenny. The hotel was very comfortable and breakfast superb! Advice on eating out was excellent - Belluno Italian is a must! Hotel highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patrick Lyons A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews