We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,212)
Filter reviews
1,212 results
Traveller rating
914
246
37
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
914
246
37
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfree cakeparking spacestanding hatjames hillgillies holtsnug barbrusher millsexbury roommorant roomwilverley roomtea and cakefresh milknew foreston arrivalreserved parkingbucks fizz
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,212 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We are currently staying for 12 nights and are on day 3 and I have to say I'm so impressed with the service the staff especially Paulina can't do enough for us we had an issue with the toilet in our room not flushing we reported it and plumber was called that same night and as a part needed to be ordered we were told we could re-locate to another suite we decided against this and stayed in our room we have had no end of goodwill a refund for the night and flowers and bubble bath all bought as gifts for us to apologise they can't seem to do enough for us ... so so impressed they are very caring you can tell they really value their guests .

I would definitely stay here again the location and everything about the hotel is amazing .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joanne H,

Thank you for your thoughtful review, we are delighted to have you spend your holidays with us and we thank you for your understanding.
We are most grateful that we were able to rectify your toilet speedily as you reported it so quickly to us. These things happen and unfortunately a Sunday afternoon isn't ideal but as you mentioned we were able to remedy the problem quickly.

We hope that you continue to enjoy your stay with us at the Cottage Lodge and continue to feel welcomed and comfortable here.

Happy Holidays!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The staff are amazing! Really friendly and accommodating, they helped changed a double bed to 2 singles and squeezed us in for dinner! You choose your table which we thought was a lovely touch and the food was great.

The Hotel is on a nice quiet road in the new forest, its on a road so front facing rooms don't have a field view but its awesome because you randomly see donkeys, horses and cows walking about!!! now thats a more interesting view?

We only stayed in one room and its white, clean and wonky :) makes you smile and feel a little drunk but that is the character of the building. Be prepared to duck a lot!
Thank you all for making our 1 night stay lovely :) we will be back

Room Tip: choose at random they looked great :)
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank madlizzie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear madlizzie2016,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and appreciated all our quirkiness. Your room the Foresters was an original bedroom from the property of 1651. So you're quite accurate with its wonky description. We are all fortunate to live nearby and are all still fascinated by the free roaming animals and scenery that makes the New Forest so unique.

We hope you'll pop back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a three night stay with Cottage Lodge Hotel, Brockenhurst. It was nice to see a named reserved parking space waiting for us. We had the Morant Suite, dog friendly with a small secure paved patio/courtyard we could sit in and let the dogs into. Rooms were very clean, and bed comfortable. Breakfast choice and quality was great. Would have been completely perfect for me if they'd had hash browns available. Staff were lovely.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Mark H,

Thank you for your great feedback, we are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were very comfortable with your canine companions.
Apologies that Hash browns aren't featured on our large breakfast menu I shall give it a mention.

Hope to see you all back again at a future date!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Back for a sixth visit and still excellent. Come here with my youngest son for events at Beaulieu and this time also visited the Sammy Miller Museum which was very special. The hotel is very friendly, clean, characterful and relaxed. We enjoy meals at the local pubs such as Snakecatcher and Foresters. The rooms are very individual, pick one from the honest descriptions. Been here before on my own for cycling for which this is a perfect base. A lovely place to stay in a most lovely part of the world! See you next year.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Peterfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Peterfromkent,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful custom we are really humbled by your great feedback and your repeated visits to us. The events at Beaulieu draw so many to this area and we are so fortunate that you have become a regular guest from this. We are pleased you got to see Sammy Millers motor bike museum, it's certainly a great place to visit and only a short drive from us, a lighter museum option for the avid motor enthusiast.
Enjoy the rest of the summer and we look forward to seeing you again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Looking at the Cottage Lodge Hotel clever website you would think you were being shown a chic, modernised, Boutique Hotel. Sadly that is not what you get.
In fact it is not even a hotel. The definition of ‘Hotel’ states ‘an establishment which provides accommodation, meal-time food and drink and which can deliver additional basic needs to the guest (eg. Concierge or room service) in return for payment’. The Cottage Lodge fails on several counts – No reception, no meal-time food (except breakfast) etc.
A more accurate description of the Cottage Lodge would be ‘Guest House’ or better still ‘B&B’. There is a restaurant serving evening meals on site but it is a separate business from the Cottage Lodge and was ‘closed for holidays’ when we stayed.
The website states ‘each room is individually designed’ – well I suppose that is true but this design team went no further than applying vast quantities of 1980’s white painted Artex on walls and ceilings and in our room some strange birch tree branches nailed to the bedframe (Alex Polizzi would have apoplexy!). Our bed was generous and very comfy and the linen good quality. The safe wouldn’t open – the out of place hand painted chest of drawers was ill fitting – the toilet seat slid around precariously and the lid would not stay up (Gentlemen you know how irritating that can be!) – the loo paper was microns thick - the cream curtains would not meet in the middle and there was no attempt at any kind of blackout for early summer sunrises. There was a printed, laminated notice giving complex instructions to operate the shower – and that “a part was on order”! (on leaving I was assured the “part” was being delivered “today” – I wonder). The breakfasts were generous, promptly served by happy people and well cooked with lots of choice. Because we stayed during the heatwave, we had a very efficient freestanding air cooler in our room – thoughtful touch.
Oh dear; my main gripe is the principle that any description should be honest and give a true representation of the establishment.
Don’t be put off by my critique. If you want a clean and comfy bed and breakfast with a possible evening meal in the centre of the New Forest then stay at the Cottage Lodge. We paid £140. a night for two of us in a double room having B&B. I’ll repeat my mantra – ‘It should be mandatory for all proprietors to spend a night in their own rooms’.
Oh yes – if you have mobility (or vertigo) problems, don’t book anything above ground floor level – the stairs to the first floor are vertiginous!

Room Tip: Avoid the upstairs rooms if you are at all unsteady. The stairs are horrendous - see pic.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank willybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Willybee,

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I have contacted you independently to offer my sincere apologies.

If you are reading this review and thinking of booking with Cottage Lodge, let me reassure you the AA has rated Cottage Lodge as a 2 star hotel.

The hand-made bed Willybee slept in was created by local tree surgeon, and wood artist, Rob Dyer. It is quirky and different. Accurate pictures of every room and every bed are available on the website.

Willybee has captured the spirit of our family run hotel when he says: 'The breakfasts were generous, promptly served by happy people, well cooked with lots of choice.' '' If you want a clean and comfy bed' then 'stay at the Cottage Lodge.'

I would just like to reassure anyone thinking of booking a room with us that most people write five star reviews for our little 2 star hotel because we care about the guest stay and we love looking after people. If something isn't right during your stay let us know straight away and we will do our best to fix it for you.

Cottage Lodge offers a wonderful restaurant, Whitetails. It provides evening meals service five days a week (Tuesday to Sunday) 48 weeks of the year. I am sorry the restaurant owner was having some family time when this gentleman came to stay. But, there is plenty of other choices of places to eat nearby. There are 15 restaurants and pubs within 10 minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. You are also welcome to bring a take away into the Snug bar to eat when the restaurant is closed. There is an Indian, Chinese, Thai and chippy within a five minute walk of Cottage Lodge.

I would like to close by saying that this gentleman makes some helpful practical points. Curtains will be attended to and the bath/shower parts have already been replaced. Our maintenance man has thoroughly checked the toilet seat and couldn't find anything wrong with it. But has changed it anyway, just in case. Please feel free to ring and talk to me if you have any questions raised by this review All the best Christina Owner Cottage Lodge 01590622296

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews