We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 205
US$ 194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 210
US$ 194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$ 198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 222
US$ 211
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 141
US$ 120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 176
US$ 171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
894
242
35
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
242
35
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking spacecakehonesty barjames hillstanding hatfresh milkgillies holtsnug barbrusher millsexbury roommorant roomwilverley roomnew forestreserved parkingbucks fizzon arrivallovely touch
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This was our second visit and we even had the same room as the first time (William I)! Walkable to anywhere in Brockenhurst in terms of pubs or restaurants, and just off the High Street. The Train station is also close by (we went to Lymington for the day – one stop 8 minutes). Comfortable room with both shower and bathtub, they also have skylights with blackout roller blinds so we slept well! They serve up a great breakfast – I had a fry up on day one, then smoked salmon with scrambled eggs on day two. They also operate an honesty bar with some nice local ales available and there is also always a cake of some sort and fresh milk available for your tea or coffee.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank willsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you Will for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you returned to visit us and enjoyed a second visit.
Maybe next time we can offer you another of our lovely rooms to try? still 14 others left for you to enjoy!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Brockenhurst in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is a small and extremely friendly hotel in a quiet and peaceful location. The rooms do not have numbers but names, and much of the furniture is hand made from local materials, giving the whole place a very homely feeling of a kind that is rare nowadays.
Located on a road where the wild New Forest ponies come along, the entrances to the car park are fitted with cattle grids, and it is not uncommon to see the ponies there.
On arrival we were met with a very warm welcome and the offer of a cup of tea and cake in the snug, and we very soon learned that it is the kind of place where one can get into a comfortable conversation with both staff and other residents, while reading material is also available to enjoy. There is no bar as such, rather drinks are available for self-service in the snug: you just fill out a slip of paper, put it into an honesty box and settle up when you check out - how much more friendly could you get?
My room, Verderers Rest, was very comfortable, and I enjoyed the luxury of a large bathtub, something that an ever-decreasing number of hotels offer nowadays. Just one thing: I was woken in the early hours by a funny noise. I later discovered that the window was open, and closing it would have resolved the problem!

Do not expect any kind of formal hotel and there is no reception desk, just a friendly chat in the snug.
This was a working visit, but should I be making a private visit to the New Forest, the Cottage Lodge will be my first choice of hotel.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Sir,

We are so pleased to learn that your recent Cottage Lodge stay provided you with such a positive experience. Thank you for your insightful and kind comments. We aim to treat our guests as individuals and provide service tailored to the specific needs of each.

You visited us on this occasion as a port of call during your working week, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, when you have time to take a leisurely walk or cycle ride in The Forest. There you may encounter further families of New Forest ponies, in addition to long-horned cattle, Mount Jack Deer and the mischevious donkeys who call this area home.

In the meantime, the team here at Cottage Lodge wish you well and safe and happy journeying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the cottage lodge hotel for a midweek break of three nights
We booked the little Alice room, mainly based on price. After booking we received an email from the hotel advising that the room was very small and head height in shower was restricted.
I was concerned by this, thinking that I may have made a mistake in booking such a small room.
I needn't have worried, everything about this hotel was superb. The room, whilst small was perfectly adequate for our needs. There was a built in wardrobe and a decent size chest of drawers so ample space for clothes for a three night stay. Bed was very comfortable too.
Superb breakfast each morning using locally sourced produce and the owner, Christine, introduced herself and was friendly and chatty as were all the staff we saw during our stay.
I could go on for ages about the plus points but suffice to say we will be back soon, there is so much to do in the area, 20 minutes from the coast and lovely walks in the new forest right on your doorstep.

David & Sarah

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 866po660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear David and Sarah,

Thank you very much indeed for your terrific feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our Little Alice room. It is one of our dear favourites and quirkiest.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed our warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again another time.

Best wishes from all the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We arrived upon being greeted and offered tea and cake as we check in was nice. Room was small but lovely and unique with hand made bed and other units in the room. Breakfast was great too and locally sourced, be sure to try the jams they are the best by far!. Christina the owner went above and beyond to make our stay extra special as we got engaged while we were away, she gave us bucks fizz and put a banner on our door. Would highly recommend and would stay here again. The only negatives were each night was a little noisy outside our window downstairs keeping us up just couldnt work out where it was coming from, the room was very hot too even with the fan and windows open. The bed itself was very comfy and bathroom nice although shower was a little too powerful for my liking. Other then this it was great. Thank you very much Cottage lodge, a stay to remember.

Room Tip: quaint, unique. Centre of new forest
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeeWebb2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Mr and (soon to be) Mrs Webb!

Congratulations once again from all of us on your engagement. We are delighted that your romantic time away resulted in this lovely news!!

Many thanks for your lovely review and we hope to have the pleasure of your company another time.

Congratulations
Christina, Kelly and all the team at Cottage Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

It was a pleasure to stay at the Cottage Lodge hotel. Ideal location with easy walks into the forest, near the Train Station, with dedicated parking for each room, a nice touch. The staff were attentive, polite and professional. The rooms are of a brilliant standard for the price, very well thought out. Fast internet with great coverage throughout. I'd recommend it, and am sure I'll be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Jack,

Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us and found everything close at hand for your walks in the New Forest.
I will pass on your compliments to our lovely team!

Hope you have an enjoyable rest of the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews