We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy, old-fashioned cottage in idyllic New Forest...”
other traveller has booked this property
Waters Green cottage and horses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Waters Green cottage and horses
Waters Green cottage with foal Living room with fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
13 reviews
Waters Green cottage and horses
Waters Green cottage with foal
Living room with fireplace
Living room bay window views
Living room
Dining room table
Cottage Kitchen
Bedroom view over Waters Green
Master Bedroom
Back Bedroom
Bathroom
Rear bedroom
Rear bedroom view
Waters Green cottage and ponies with foal
Cottage rear from garden
Garden & Patio
Waters Green ponies grazing
Waters Green cottage and ponies
Waters Green cottage and horses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scarymary...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy, old-fashioned cottage in idyllic New Forest location”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a fantastic week winter break in this cosy cottage. The location is beautiful. There are New Forest ponies and cows grazing on the green outside the front door. You can walk straight out into the heart of the forest, for miles. The village has a good selection of friendly pubs and restaurants within walking distance. The cottage has everything you would need for the whole family, even the dog. There is ample room with beds and bedding for a large family, and a huge round table in the dining room with chairs in all shapes and sizes from a high chair upwards, and a conservatory for muddy wellies. The cottage is safe for young children with a stairgate and enclosed garden. It has heaps of cooking utensils and pots etc, lovely new Bosch appliances including a washing machine. It is warm, with loads of hot water for baths, or showers in a separate cubicle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is equipped with absolutely everything you would possibly need!
Liked least: The building is typical of a terrace of its age with lumpy walls, bumpy ceilings and sash windows
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbe201520...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We have rented this cottage for a week in December for two years running and hope to return. It has been warm, well equipped and comfortable. The décor was not 'high spec' but perfectly adequate, and it suited us. We believe this was reflected in the rental charge which was very reasonable for that area. The location is good as it is a short walk to pubs, shops and open forest. The mainline train station is a few minutes away. There is parking outside for a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean B
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL AREA. DISGRACEFUL COTTAGE”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The drive up to this cottage was beautiful but as I went through the front door my heart sank. The walls were yellowed as it looked as though it hadn't been decorated for a very long time. It was just filthy with very noticeable dust and cobwebs in every room. The kitchen in particular was a total and utter disgrace. Everything we touched was covered in grease meaning that we spent our first day washing all the cutlery and crockery before we could attempt to use it. I found dead spiders and cobwebs in the pans which were very old and scratched. The cooker was covered in grease and fat dripped into our food when we used the hob. A rose tree from the overgrown garden had pushed its way through the kitchen window and was growing inside. The curtains had thick grease and dust on the tops. The fire blanket was also covered in grease making it unusable if needed. The fire extinguisher was Lso covered in grease and cobwebs. The conservatory was unusable as it looked like a lean too on the side. It was full of rubbish and also filthy. There was a basket of very yellowed newspapers in the corner making it in my opinion a fire hazard. The only chair had a hole in it making it unusable even if you wanted to sit in such a filthy place. Outside was no better. The garden furniture had turned green and turned into green slime when my daughter tried to clean it..upstairs in the cottage was no better. I found rubbish under on of the beds. The mattresses on the bunk beds were so thin that we had to pad them out with blankets and duvets. The walls in the bathroom were filthy and needed redecorating. The rubbish bins were rusty. We found windows that wouldn't close and others that wouldn't open. Back downstairs there were dog hairs on the window seat. We were told the cleaner brought her dog as she cleaned. The sofa bed was unusable as it was also filthy and it smelt when it was opened up. I spent most of the week sleeping on it closed up until my family booked me into a nearby hotel for a night so I could have at least one good sleep in a comfortable bed before we left. The whole stay was a total disaster . When we spoke to the owner who was very rude. He said he didn't know what we were talking about and suggested we leave. It was Bank holiday week and because there were 7 of us including 2 small children everywhere was booked up. My daughter and I had both been unwell for many months leading up to our holiday and the last thing we needed was the stress that this brought us. The only best part to our stay in this cottage was leaving it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locking the door when leaving
Liked least: The stress that we were all put under when we all needed a relaxing holiday. We had to have more meals out as we didn't want to use the kitchen.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
It is very disappointing and sad to receive such a review, when every effort was made to make these guests welcome and comfortable, as the vast majority of guests have found the cottage to be. However, this was a last minute booking, made without regard by them to what the cottage offered, adding additional guests beyond that which would normally accept for a week's stay. Furthermore, the review is already six months old and the cottage has now been redecorated and updated during the winter break. Best to check for yourself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J M
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but cottage does needs a good clean”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in this cottage for a week in September. The location is excellent with walks from the doorstep and a couple minutes walk to the centre of Brockenhurst with it's shops and pubs. Unfortunately however, the cottage itself does need a really good clean, which is a shame because otherwise this could be a great cottage. The 'average' rating is taking into account the great location. :(

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katandmou...
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Me and my partner have been coming to this cottage for a number of years, and we both love it for it’s lovely location. Situated in a small terrace overlooking a green, the area is quiet, but not too remote, and with parking right outside, loading and unloading your car is easy.

Ideally situated for walkers and cyclists, the village centre a short walk away, so you’re never far from a store, or the many nice pubs, restaurants and cafés in and around the village.

There’s a lovely large open fire in the lounge (you can buy some logs from the village hardware shop – not to mention just about anything else you might need), Freeview TV with built-in DVD player, and a video … should there be the odd occasion when ‘the great outdoors’ isn’t so great! There’s also an eclectic mix of books and novels that has evolved over the years, should you prefer reading.

With three bedrooms and a sofa bed, there is plenty of sleeping space, and a good-sized dining table means everyone can enjoy breakfast and meal times together.

The landlord is always very helpful, and does his best to accommodate us and ensure that our arrival, stay and departure goes smoothly and without a hitch. He can also recommend local places to eat, and things to do, should you be a new visitor to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing