We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal house as a family retreat”

Review of Woodland Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Woodland Cottage front garden
Forest View
Forest View 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hely377
Zwevegem, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideal house as a family retreat”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house was clean and spacious for the four of us (2 adults & 2 toddlers) kitchen was very well equipped and we did not lack a thing! Location was ideal as there is plenty to do for both young and old! Highlights were naturally the ponies that came to visit; a bike ride through the forest; the motor museum & abbey; Exbury gardens and for our little ones - Peppa the Pig World! We also went to the seaside and had a lovely walk along the coast. I would recommend both Woodland cottage and the New Forest to all my friends and family! One tip though - a child safety gate placed at the bottom of the stairs would be handy for those with toddlers that like to explore!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betti2016
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We (two couples) stayed at Woodland Cottage for a week in August. The cottage was perfectly located on the edge of Brockenhurst overlooking a heath with an occasional grazing pony and a 15-20 minute walk into the centre and to restaurants/pubs but well away from the busy main road which runs through Brockenhurst.

The cottage was perfect for two couples with a bathroom on both floors and enough parking for two cars. The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you need to prepare breakfast, picnics, BBQs or even a full meal. There was also a dishwasher (slim line, so some washing up needed after a BBQ) and a washing machine.

The cottage has a conservatory on the back, which was a lovely place to sit to enjoy a sunny day.

We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds were very low
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Woodland Cottage for three nights as a group of five - me, my parents, my husband and our baby son (10 months old). The house was spacious, spotlessly clean and furnished very nicely. We were delighted with the quality of the property. The letting agency were kind enough to let us access the property a little earlier on the first day, when we arrived more quickly than we'd expected.

We enjoyed being so close to the forest and saw wild ponies everywhere we went. We made trips into Lyndhurst, Lymington and to Bucklers' Hard, and ate out a great deal, including at the Foresters' Arms next to Brockenhurst station, where the food was excellent.

I'd like to note in particular that the cot and cot bedding provided by the cottage were of really good quality. I was a little nervous so had packed our travel cot and bedding but I had no qualms about using the cottage's cot (and the high chair) for our small boy.

We would happily return to Woodland Cottage - the only problem we encountered was managing the hot water supply to allow four adults to have quick showers each morning. The quality of the upstairs shower is very good though! Our only other request would be for a small clotheshorse of some sort - we did the occasional washload and the garden and conservatory are such suntraps that it would have dried very quickly that way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the property and its furnishings
Liked least: Some issues with hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
1 review
“Great family holiday especially the visiting donkeys”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A lovely location and house. Top tip drive all the way along Waters Green Road to find the property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
This was actually Chamberlains Cottage that Mr Buis stayed in which is in Waters Green Road.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MjWilk201...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a family weekend away 6 adults and a baby. Well equipped, modern and clean and step straight outside the front door on to the New Forest. We easily parked 3 cars on the drive way. We liked the fact that there were 3 double beds and two bathrooms - although neither are en-suite.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing