We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pigs ear.”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pigs ear.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Food- really bad. And I mean bad. Crab was poolry shelled and so cold it was frozen in the middle. The less said about the pork belly, the better. Not crispy, not crackly. Clearly not "slow cooked". Felt and tasted like it had been boiled. Boiled skin is not very nice.

Service- really bad. The waitress brought out my main when I was still eating my starter and had to be asked to return it to the kitchen!

Ambience/atmosphere. The bar area is cool but interior design budget obviosuly ran out after that. The sitting room particular feels weird.

A shame as the building is nice, as is the setting. But thats about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alison g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    370
    192
    125
    52
See reviews for
241
899
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

When it was called Whiteley Ridge under the previous ownership you were made to feel special. You came away feeling totally satisfied. Always a superb menu, superb service and extemely luxurious furnishings. In two words 'warm' and 'welcoming'.
NOW - The Pig as its aptly called, offers bare floor boards and extremely 'shabby' sheak furnishings. We were served by a young man wearing jeans and bumper boots and the dining table and chair was just like the ones in my potting shed. We didnt expect a farmyard type experience, especially in view of the prices.
We ate at Whiteley Ridge many times and always enjoyed the whole experience, we are totally devasted and will have to find somewhere else to celebrate our birthdays and anniversaries.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TillyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was taken to the Pig as a birthday treat. It was FAB. Shabby Chic at its best. There’s probably a newer word for it now but I’m sure you know what I mean.
Stayed in the delightful converted stables with splintery floorboards.
Lovely staff.Food and décor to die for.
Only gripe is being asked to pay £30 extra for breakfast for 2. The place is expensive enough. It happened to me once before at Crillon le Brave in France. A bit naughty.
I’m still going to give it Top Marks to redress the idiotic review from “Durban” “Truly Awful”. He must have stayed somewhere else. In fact, maybe he should, The Pemier Inn.
Ps, thank you Suzanne, for the treat

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager_Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Booked The Pig on a whim after reading about it in a magazine. Everything on the website appealed and we were intrigued to learn what this "restaurant with rooms" was all about.

Without doubt an awful lot of effort has gone into this place to make it different, which it is! It's approach is shabby-chic and cool, whilst maintaining appeal to 'normal' people (like us!).

We loved the whole feel of the place - the look, the rooms, the bar, restaurant, the grounds, food and the staff too.

Slightly felt we were being "sold-to" in the restaraunt as we were bombarded by several different staff when we first sat down, which caused a fundamental mistake in my order - I had crackling and apple sauce "Piggy Bits" as a pre-starter and then went on to order the pork as a main course - which caused me not to enjoy my meal as much as anticipated. I did highlight this to the senior waiter who apologised and said he would not have let this happen had he have realised - this comes back to the problem with being bombarded by different staff to begin with.

That said - please do give it a go - it was a real treat, different in lots of good ways, the staff were lovely and we are definitely going back!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath so if you want to 'soak' when you are on a wind-down-weekend watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sickofbeinghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We went here for a weekend break; to see what the hype was all about and to find out if there is really anything new under the sun.

Well, the hype is well founded, and, i think there is something a bit special going on here. There is much to like, and we ended up having one of the most relaxing weekends away.

But all is not perfection here. We arrived, a bit frazzled from a working week, having driven in pelting rain and ready for a stress free time. Walking through the front door of this beautiful house on a wet and cold spring evening was like arriving at someone's well kept country retreat. We could smell the woodfires in the two elegant sitting rooms, and see people in there taking an early evening drink, playing scrabble, reading novels...But when we were shown our 'snug' room in the main house, I noticed some mosquitoes ( yes, mosquitoes!) on the inside of the windows. On pointing this out to the girl who was showing us the room, we were immediately offered a new room, also in the main house, which was a bit larger, and overlooked the lovely courtyard..

The room had all you could want, really, ( though it would have been nice to have had some free bottled water in the mini fridge which is rather optimistically called ' the larder'). The bed was lovely and soft, the bed linen simply plain and white and the towels large, fluffy and plentiful. The room, though, was extremely hot, and despite the fact that the radiators were turned off in both the bathroom and the bedroom, remained so. It transpired that there were hot water pipes underneath the (stripped) floorboards and this was the cause of the excessive heat. We were able to open the large sash window to cool the bedroom down, but could do nothing to cool the sauna - like bathroom. We mentioned this to the extremely personable manager, who seemed rather surprised at this fact ( had no other guest noticed this??). So do check if you are allocated Room 1, and you don't want to be in a very warm room!

Despite all of this ( and the fact that we had to keep the bedroom window open for the whole of our stay), we enjoyed The Pig. A cocktail before dinner in the buzzy bar, dinner in the restaurant and a nightcap in front of one of the open fires did the trick. The food is very good indeed, and the philosophy of locally sourced ingredients seems to work. We had a stroll over the walled garden and a peek into the lovely greenhouse, saw the hens and pigs and it was lovely.

Breakfast does deserve a mention too - it is probably the best i have ever had in a hotel. Lots of choice, strong coffee, and the granola is superb. Newspapers are strewn over an empty table and Radio 2 hums along in the background.

So if you are a five star hotel fan and slick luxury is your yard stick , chances are that you probably won't really like the Pig. The experience here is a quirky one, and its charm lies in the things that some of the reviewers here have seen as reasons to dismiss it.

I would go back in a shot though - but would perhaps go for a room not in the main house, and certainly not room 1 - unless the temperature outside was below zero!

Room Tip: Main house rooms can be subject to noise from downstairs and from the courtyard if windows are open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gullgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
4.2 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
5.1 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
1.7 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
12.6 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
1.2 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,906 - ₹ 20,517
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing