We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,921)
Filter reviews
1,921 results
Traveller rating
1,108
485
172
100
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
485
172
100
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beresfords restaurant saltus spa new forest superior room jacuzzi and sauna indoor and outdoor pools leisure facilities afternoon tea forest view lovely hotel lounge area four poster spa treatments family room restaurant manager short break lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,921 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Food, staff and location are all brilliant here and we would come back again.

Outdoor pool was lovely, and it had a small basic gym which was ideal. Thought the general decor was nice, and it was a good atmosphere.

Slight negative points were on our first evening it took over 25 minutes to get given a menu on the patio area and order anything in the evening without it being busy. My partner and I reminded them we were there and asked for a menu and to order drinks 3 times which didn’t speed it up. However the food was excellent, and we were given a glass of bubbly as an apology.

We stayed in room 25 which overlooked the outdoor pool and spa. Unfortunately there was a constant 24/7 humming noise from the fans of the spa area, so had to close the windows which was very hot as no air conditioning. We spoke to reception in the morning and they very kindly moved us without an issue. Second room was fantastic.

Any issues we had were sorted quickly and effortlessly. Again, loved it and would certainly come back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Alex W

Thank you for your review. I was happy to read that the issues you had were rectified immediately but very sorry that you had such a wait on your first evening with us. This most unusual and I hope it did not detract from your stay with us. We certainly hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We arrived for a 3 day break with our Labrador Hunter.
We booked direct with the hotel and we were offered an upgrade of room on the phone.
Room 44 is in the Eaves top level hot drab and not welcoming at all.
I would suggest never getting a room in the eaves 3rd floor unless the hotel puts in air conditioning!
After complaining to the manager we were given room 25 the next day which was larger yet still not looking like an upgrade. At least it was on the second level.

The hotel is tired in places pool and patio at back and is in need of refurbishment.
Some rooms have been refurbished but was mislead on the phone to believe we would have the same room as any guests arriving with or without a dog.
This accommodation ruined our very special break which was a birthday treat.
The beautiful surroundings of this old hotel are wonderful with the roaming ponies and animals. A shame the rooms are not of a good standard with or without a dog!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room definitely not in the eaves.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Novick2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Novick2015

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your time with us. Unfortunately our Victorian era building cannot support air conditioning. We have taken great care on our website not to suggest the rooms are air conditioned, just the public areas. I would always suggest guests use our Choose your room facility on our website. It give a clear description of each room so our guests can choose a room perfectly suited to their needs. In the description it clearly states if a room is dog friendly or not. Unfortunately not all our rooms can be dog friendly due to allergies and such- we really have to ensure these are kept separate. I am sorry you felt that the accommodation let us down. We have made a tremendous investment in the refurbishment of a lot of our rooms over the past 5 years to bring them up to standard but as a privately owned hotel this can take time. We are currently upgrading a further six of our rooms over the next week or two. I hope you will give us another chance and return to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We came to visit the New Forest, the hotel was in very good condition with excellent breakfast. Rooms are reasonably large and new and staff are attentive and caring. The location is ideal to visit the New Forest, perfect for couples and families.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank gigio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear gigio13

Fantastic review thank you! I hope you come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Visited here on a sunny Saturday at the end of June to celebrate our friends’ wedding. What a glorious day! The happy couple couldn’t have seemed more delighted with everything and as a guest it was fabulous too. A beautiful venue with delicious food and attentive service. Then, at the end of the night a luxurious room with a comfy bed and a fabulous shower! A truly memorable weekend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Claire M

What more can I say about your review other thank thank you! Our team will really be delighted with your comments. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Set in a beautiful location and a fantastic hotel and super staff. Breakfast was excellent and the pools very welcome as it was a scorcher. Surprised to see a few residents with dogs but they were all very well trained and they werent a problem. We wouldn’t hesitate to go back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Paul F

Thank you for your review! We have indeed been experiencing very hot weather and there is no better place to enjoy it than the out door pool. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews