We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun hack for the whole family”

Forest Park Riding Stables
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a hacking centre located right in the heart of Brockenhurst, in the New Forest National Park. We house 15 horses and ponies of varying height and breed, there is something suitable for everyone! We offer direct forest access and welcoming, friendly staff. We are one of few hacking centres that can offer cantering for the experienced riders, as well as walk and trot rides for any ability of rider. Please visit our website for full details and to have a peek at the gallery!
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun hack for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were very excited to be able to ride on horseback through the forest, and Forest Park Stables did not disappoint. We were carefully matched to suitable horses, and led on a beautiful hack through the nearby countryside. For the more able riders, the guides offered plenty of opportunity to split up from the main group for trots and canters, and gave everyone the choice of trying a trot towards the end of the ride. The staff were also more than happy to look after our miniature schnauzer while we were out riding, and kept her in her crate in their staff room, which meant we could all enjoy the ride as a family.
We would love to try their pub ride in future...sounds like the prefect day out!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JoCav25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirate18, Manager at Forest Park Riding Stables, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. It really is lovely to get such good feedback from happy customers! We aim to meet your expectations, so to exceed them is fantastic! We hope to see you again in the future.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    3
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Considering opening a centre next door. I could do better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

On booking we were so looking forward to our ride in the "forest" but on arrival found the staff nothing but rude to the point of us nearly not going on the ride. The horses on the ride didnt even take notice of the rider on its back and I am have ridden for years. The horses seem so bored and not taken on any different hacks that they could do it with their eyes closed. The instructor was yelling at one rider to "Kick it" harder and harder. Just so mean.
We arrived back with the staff just walking off and not even saying thank you or did you enjoy yourself? I suppose they know the answer. They didnt even let you trot for more than one minute either. It was so dull and yet so much beautiful flat land to ride and gallop on.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank 2beamermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirate18, Manager at Forest Park Riding Stables, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate all feedback and the opportunity to respond. I would like to say that our horses are selected for each rider by the information provided ie height, weight, ability etc. These horses must also pass a rigorous inspection annualy to be deemed safe for client use. Flighty and unruly horses are not welcome in a riding school environment. We have many horses suitable for experienced riders and all of the horses respond to the rider on their back. They will plod if ridden quietly but will instantly pick up and give a lovely responsive ride to an experienced rider. They are selected for this exact temperament. We do not offer galloping and do not advertise this. We are one of few yards in the New Forest that offer cantering at all. The National Park is protected land and we actively try to conserve it. I am absolutely sure that the escorts did not just walk off leaving you sat on your horse as we dismount every single rider individually for safety purposes. If you found the staff rude I sincerely apologise for this as that is unacceptable. It is a shame that we didnt meet your expectations on this occassion.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had a great two hour hack with these stables. A very good thoroughbred horse, great guide and a lot of fun riding over beautiful forest and wilds. I am an experienced rider and was very pleased with the turnout responsiveness of my ride.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank houlbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirate18, Manager at Forest Park Riding Stables, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you very much for writing your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you had a brilliant ride on one of our lovely, responsive horses. It just goes to show that our horses give you what you ask for! As an experienced rider you got one of our 'ploddy and dull' horses going beautifully, (as another reviewer referred to them!)
We hope to see you again in the future.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good riding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

well organized good horses staff etc had a lovely ride nice area

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank chickwsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirate18, Manager at Forest Park Riding Stables, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have in the past done 2 hour rides from here, but took a non rider friend for a one hour , I had a chance for a canter and her learn't to trot. A lot of health and safety went on which rather spoilt the experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank julie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirate18, Manager at Forest Park Riding Stables, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We invite all feedback. I am pleased that you have enjoyed our 2 hour hacks on previous occassions. I do appreciate that the health and safety pocedures are fairly strict, however those are the conditions set out to us by our insurance company, which we must adhere to. We hope you continue to enjoy our 2 hour hacks in the future.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Park Riding Stables also viewed

 

Been to Forest Park Riding Stables? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing