We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful time”
Review of The Edgcumbe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edgcumbe
Ranked #8 of 49 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
banbury
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“wonderful time”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have stayed in Bude for many years mainly in houses so kids can bring the dog, but have just started to come for golf weekends, and l must say what a welcome we got on a wet friday, could not wish for more, the families looking after us were great, the breakfast the best, and where else do you get a dog to walk Hector the hound a mad spaniel was a joy to take out, not sure about his grass pulling up but hey he was having fun hope the tennis balls l bought him are not to chewed. Well thanks again for a great long weekend will be coming back, bye xxx

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanburyPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    28
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
148
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our stay at the Edgcumbe was a weekend break treat for my husbands birthday - The hotel is a family run business and is warm, friendly and welcoming, nothing seems to be too much trouble - The decor is what I would describe as seaside chic. Our room (10) was good with a view of both beach and countryside. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of hot food to order and cereals fruit etc buffet style. The Edgcumbe added to a great weekend which was very relaxing and luckily very sunny!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Great value for money.
Clean, neat, good quality, tasteful place.
Warm and friendly staff.
First class breakfast.
Child friendly.
Breathtaking views.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We selected the edgcumbe for a two night break as we had seen the recommendations on trip advisor. 100% guaranteed is a strong recommendation and we arrived expecting great things. We were absoulutely delighted. The location is spectacular, access easy and the welcome was so professional and friendly. We instantly felt on holiday and nothing was too much trouble. We had a premier double bedroom which was huge and had stunning views of the beach and bay from the large bay windows. The room was very comfortable and clean as was the rest of the hotel and we had a lovely stay. The selection and quality of breakfast was excellent. The overall holiday experience exceeded our expectations and we will definately be going back soon

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Took a chance via the internet when we wanted a three-night stay for a break, and certainly struck gold - a lovely room (Room 6, but am sure all the others are just as good), excellent breakfast, gold star house-keeping, everywhere spotless and well-maintained, and all-in-all first class. Friendly but not intrusive family-run, and we certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Premier sea view room 6 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janine_mills21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bude hotels
0.2 km away
An Mor
An Mor
#4 of 9 in Bude
197 reviews
0.5 km away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#3 of 9 in Bude
542 reviews
0.5 km away
The Cliff Hotel at Bude
0.0 km away
The Beach at Bude
The Beach at Bude
#3 of 49 in Bude
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgcumbe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgcumbe

Property: The Edgcumbe
Address: Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude-Stratton > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,440 - ₹ 12,234
Hotel Class:4 star — The Edgcumbe 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Period property on the outside, seaside chic on the inside, so much more than a B & B, with a look and feel more suited to a small boutique hotel. A relaxed and easy bar area with board games and quizzes for cosy evenings in and and a contemporary yet relaxing dining room for breakfast and home-cooked evening meals. Great spot overlooking the coast, cliffs and town and an easy walk to town centre and 2 great surfing beaches. Everything you need for a great break in an unspoilt and stunning area with accommodation to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Edgcumbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgcumbe Bude, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing