We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night with our mum as we were attending a family funeral in Newton Abbot. We booked the downstairs apartment but when we arrived we had been upgraded to the Penthouse apartment. It was lovely. Mum had a lovely double room with tv and we had a beautiful and huge double room with sitting area and outside seating overlooking the chickens and countryside. We did not have dinner in the restaurant because we were very tired from a 6 hour drive, but our breakfast was lovely. Great choices and the eggs were so delicious we bought some to bring home. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem.

Unfortunately, the circumstances were not the best for our visit but we would definately recommend Sampsons Farm to anyone and would love to return again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank NicPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

I think our stay here was amazing... Firstly the staff here are brilliant they are so friendly and treat you like a friend. The food was brilliant I'd highly recommend the mussels. I cannot say a bad word about it as it was a great stay made better by the staff, the food and lovely views from our room of some very interesting chickens! Stay there it's a must

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was our first visit to this part of Devon and our first holiday in a hotel for over 20 years... and what a great time we had! We both love walking and cycling and were able to leave the car safely at the farm and enjoy the local area. To see a Kingfisher fly past on the adjacent river Teign was amazing - to see it twice was brilliant! when we did take the car out, we rarely travelled for more than 15 to 20 minutes - Paignton Zoo, Carnglaze Caverns, Canonteign Falls (the highest waterfall in England, cycling the river exe into Exeter, Climbing a Tor on Dartmoor... we even enjoyed throwing our own pots at Chine Blue. Our rooms were warm and cosy (this was April!) - we were in the spacious Penthouse Suite - and had great views of the countryside and chickens! The welcome we received, and service during the week, was of the highest standard - we were really made to feel at home. In fact, by the end of our 9 nights, we almost felt part of the family. Food was great and the wine equally so. We really felt spoilt, sitting by the log fire, drinking wine and having to choose from the menu - this must be the life! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We recently spent two nights at Sampsons Farm and found it to be very friendly and comfortable. The room was a decent size but being in an old building did not have a level floor - added to the charm. The bathroom was just a small shower room with a toilet and the basin was in the main bedroom. None of this deterred from the great stay we had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay. The staff are extremely friendly and we were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Our room was comfortable and well equipped, the bathroom was a little on the small side but adequate for a short stay. Wireless Internet access is available in the room at no extra charge.
The food is amazing lovely choice for breakfast and all cooked fresh. We ate in the resturant one evening and the food was excellent .
Lovely peaceful place to stay with only the sound of birds to wake you in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claredawkins129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
3.2 km away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
5.3 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
118 reviews
9.4 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
8.7 km away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
266 reviews
4.1 km away
Brambly Wood B&B
Brambly Wood B&B
#6 of 24 in Newton Abbot
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range: ₹ 1,722 - ₹ 8,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing