We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts and excellent accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We made a late booking for one nights stay to pick up a puppy in Newton Abbot on the Sunday morning. Arrived Saturday evening and although the restaurant was closed we were offered several alternatives in relation to food and in the end we settled for home made soup and bread which was exceptionally good. After tea and coffee in the lounge we retired to our room in the converted stable block. The room was certainly large enough for the two of us and we both slept very well. The room and bathroom were exeptionally clean. Breakfast was brilliant with a large choice of "starters" followed by the traditional "full english" There was also an option to build you own breakfast of poacked eggs, omelettes, bacon and sausages etc, plenty of tea and toast. Overall 10 out of 10. Very pleasant hosts who could not have been mor helpful. I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area.

Room Tip: In busy times it may be quieter to have a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 277 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

As we run our own businesses- we cant always book well in advance.
Late booking here was literally a piece of cake (and you should try the cake with afternoon tea!)
We stayed with our 2 small dogs between Christmas and over New Year
Its fab!
The relaxed atmosphere yet wonderfull service throughout was beyond expectations
Mike and Emma looked after us very well at breakfast and dinner and Nigel could not have been more helpfull
The food at all meals was superbly cooked and well presented.
After a typical feast at Christmas we wanted to vary the choice and this was not a problem.
A pint of local brew in front of the fire before dinner could not be beaten

We had the Penthouse- with the balcony- stacks of room and very clean.
Facilities in the room from the heating to the visio- audio TV/CD/DVD were very welcoming and when it rained provided a very comfortable bolt hole.
With the surrounding area- river walks and access to dartmoor, I am not sure who had the best break- us or the dogs
Regardless and to quote Swatzenegger "I will return"

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the Penthouse-its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Since the family home is nearby, we didn't stay at the hotel but instead chose to drop in to the restaurant as part of a post-Christmas walk in the countryside. The fire was roaring on our arrival which was very welcome since it was very cold and windy outside. All the food on the menu is locally sourced and after much deliberation I opted for the Chicken Caesar Salad salad (absolutely massive) and a local cider (delicious). The price of the food on offer is perhaps slightly higher than average, but the quality and quantity certainly make up for that. I imagine a stay at this hotel would be terrifically relaxing considering its rural setting, but it's well worth a visit - even if only for a quick Devonian Cream Tea to conclude a nice ramble.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed for three nights at the end of November. Quiet little hamlet with bags of character. Booked a standard room, our third night was free due to a special offer and when we arrived we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom flat! It was a little shabby but warm and very comfortable and perfect for our stay visiting relatives locally. The restaurant food was delicious and thank god for the owner who knows how to make a decent scrambled egg for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a lovely place to stay and would definately recommend to others. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

what can we say this was a memorable 2 night stay,its the place to escape too so quiet apart from the wildlife and the chickens but they just add to the whole experience,the staff are super and cant do enough to make you welcome the open log fire really is not worth moving from,to be honest we really did not want to go out in the day and just stay there and chill.the low ceilings and original beams and timbers throughout give it that feeling of well being you can see its been loved and cherished by the owners.the local people know all about the place and arrive at all hours of the day,the excellent food included is a good range of local produce and good wines (try the south african pinotage superb) it really is a favoutite haunt of many returning guests and once discovered the pleaseure of dining and soaking up such a delightful place you just have to come back.we booken in for two further visits as we checked out great place.

Room Tip: out in the courtyard is great but if you like it quaint then in the main house is super you dont nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
3.2 km away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
9.4 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
5.3 km away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 24 in Newton Abbot
440 reviews
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
8.7 km away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampsons Farm Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampsons Farm Country Hotel

Address: Preston, Newton Abbot PQ12 3PP, England (Formerly Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range: ₹ 1,741 - ₹ 9,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sampsons Farm Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14c thatched Devon longhouse bed breakfast with additional ground floor en-suite rooms in the converted stables. We offer rustic charm with friendly professional service. Pick your own free range eggs for breakfast from our array of happy hens in the apple orchards. River walks along the Templers way 4oo yards down the lane, walk across to Stover Country Park, free Wellingtons on standby. Home-made cakes baked by my daughter Eliza and why not treat yourself to a Devon Cream Tea. Great location to Discover Dartmoor (Hound of the Baskerville country) Teignmouth, Shaldon and Dartmouth all close by. Visit the famous Eden Project only 90 minutes away by car. I am always on hand to guide you on what to see and where to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sampsons Farm Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Newton Abbot
Sampsons Farm, Restaurant And Rooms
Hotel Sampsons Farm Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing