We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
83
44
10
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
44
10
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noisy lobster kids club mudeford quay platinum lodge children's pool beautiful holiday lovely seaside gold apartment isle of wight small site bathroom light lovely week avon beach sunny weather peppa pig world short walk location is great
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Just returned from a few days at Sandhills and will definitely return. Ideal for a relaxed holiday with young children as beach is right there, plus a reasonably sized pool and a great toddler pool for the little ones. Bar area is like a time warp and is very dated and drab so we didn't use it. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Caravan was clean and comfortable but they are very crammed in. Not a lot of space between them. Plenty of places to eat in the vicinity.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chrissy878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane P, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review and so positive about returning visit.

It is a lovely location that we are located in with the beach just a stone throws away from the park, Our facilities of the pool area is well used and great for the toddlers too in the baby pool.

With regards to the bar area it is within a listed building so there are restrictions on what we can actually do but is still a nice area to relax in.

I was pleased to read that the caravan was to your liking clean and comfortable for you all.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding my Staff I will pass these on as they will be greatly appreciated.

Once again thank you and see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This was our third annual visit to Sandhills with our grandson, now 5. In previous years we stayed in a caravan, but this year we stayed in an apartment in the main house. This gives more space but you lose the outside eating area.
You could focus on the tired decor, low wattage lighting in the bedroom, noisy fridge and cursory cleaning - but that would be picky and didn’t detract from our stay. It meant we didn’t need to worry about sticky fingers and playing in the accommodation. And the open plan layout gave a lot of space.
The pool was great and well managed, the beach on our doorstep, the staff friendly and common areas looked after.
Prices for the apartments are reasonable for the location and what you get, although some lodges are very expensive.
We will, of course, be coming again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gmkWhitchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane P, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at Sandhills which is greatly appreciated.

Our apartments are in for refurbishment this winter to open for the new season of 2019, so when you return you will see the much needed improvement.

Our outdoor pool has always been the main attraction for all especially with the fantastic weather we have been having, not forgetting a stone throw away from the park is the beach.

We endeavor to offer a high standard of customer service for all our guests so that they can enjoy the surrounding of the park whilst here.

Once again thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Our first time in a holiday park. We were agreeably surprised by the standard of accommodation in a Platinum lodge (two bathrooms, two TVs), clean and neat, with nice verandah. Children's pool was great fun. Staff were really nice. Location brilliant as ferries were very near as were sandy beaches. No noise at night and very little by day. Masses to do in the area even if you avoid Bournemouth! Christchurch is a lovely old town with a beautiful priory and harbour, and good shops. New Forest is near.
Beaches are terrific. We recommend not the very near Avon beach, which is OK, but a bit pebbly and full of chalets, but either Highcliffe Clifftop (which is beautiful but the beach is a bit narrow and often very full), or, even better, go and park at lovely Highcliffe Castle and walk down the steps in the wood to a lovely big quiet beach.
NB we were in the famous heatwave, so a beach holiday was memorable.
A final word for the excellent New Forest Wildlife Park -- the children will love it,as did mum and dad.

Room tip: It is not a hotel. It is a park. Go for a Platinum lodge -- very comfortable.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank xenophonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane P, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such and informative review regarding your stay and the location of your holiday.

Our platinum lodges are the cream of our hire for guests, spacious with the little added extras of towels,dressing gowns and slippers.

Our facilities maybe small but adequate for the guests who stay and enjoy.

Our location is second to none with the beaches you can visit, the quay and also take the ferry over so you can venture to Hengistbury head which is a prime location for all.

Thank you for you kind comments regarding my Staff this will be passed on and will be very much appreciated.

Once again thank you and see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

We had a truly wonderful time. Our lodge was absolutely amazing. We opted for a platinum one and it was so worth it; so much space; great layout; decking was lovely and perfect for the baby to crawl around on (and for a relaxing drink on!) We have never been so comfortable and relaxed in this type of accommodation.
The park is right on the beach and has an exceptionally lovely outdoors pool, so when the weather is good (which it was) you can really just sink into that lovely pool/beach holiday mode... We feel so relaxed from it.
Staff are friendly and helpful... It was all so nice. The beach and Mudeford Quay are so accessible that you really feel you can just be there and 'kick back'. We didn't want to leave; just use everything nearby and enjoy!
Will definitely return.. Still lots to do in surrounding area.
Feel we've really found somewhere perfect for those family holidays by the sea. We've been to a few Park holiday places and this is by far the best for us. Quiet, chilled and surrounded by traditional beach holiday fun and lovely people.
Can't wait for next holiday.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kirsty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane P, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a splendid review regarding your here at Sandhills.

I was so pleased to read that the lodge you were allocated exceeded your expectations and that you were comfortable and able to chill as that is what should happen on a holiday.

Our location is second to none with the beach and quay I personally believe there is not better place than here maybe I am a bit biased as I am here all the time.

Our facilities are minimal but cater enough for our Guests and Visitors to the Park.

Also thank you for your kind comments regarding my Staff i will pass these on as they will be greatly appreciated.

Once again thank you for your review and look forward to meeting you in the future on your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

I paid £600 + for three people to stay 3 nights in number 9 appartment in the main building. This figure is very disapproriate to accomodation we stayed in.
I feel I have been totally ripped off . It is a tired appartment with inadequate lighting, poor tvs, cheap furniture and in need of redecoration throughout.To top it all nobody had cleaned under the bed which was an easy thing to do before we arrived. A bed fell apart during our stay, the slats gave way. In the bar area is a young children playroom which has all the atmosphere of a airless cupboard in much need of redocoration. The car park in front of the hotel is not designed for modern vehicle size and there were people parked in spaces which were unmarked for parking which needed to be addressed to allow the marked spaces to work atall. I will not be booking a Park Holiday again based on how I feel about my visit here.

Room tip: avoid no 9
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane P, General Manager at Sandhills Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay here at Sandhills.

I sorry to read of your disappointment and your comments regarding your accommodation, all areas of the apartment should have been cleaned to a high standard including under the bed I can only apologize this was not done in this instance.

The parking has not been a problem before if this had been brought to our attention of any issues at the time then it could have been rectified.

Once again thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews