We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tonyjohn
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Badgers end is a beautiful homely cottage, set in a stunning location. We were welcomed by Carol with a plate of home made cakes. A fantastic place to visit, to enjoy the forest and surroundings. Carol recommended a number of excellent pubs and restaurants and warned us of the weight gain consequences! Should we be fortunate to visit the Forest of Dean in the future we will hopefully stay at Badgers End again.
My wife left a pair of boots at the cottage and Carol sought out a suitable box and posted them to our home. Carol refused to accept compensation for the running around, aggravation and postage,. This is typical of Carol's generosity.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2018
Thank you both. It was a real pleasure to host you. I know what it’s like to forget or lose something and the joy of having it back. My pleasure.
Carol xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry P
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A cottage so lovely I wouldn't have minded being locked in!”
Reviewed 19 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We had a lovely weekend stay at Badger's End Cottage. I actually live just a few miles away but booked it for a visit from my American friend. We thought it was the cutest place, and after arriving in the dark found it well lit up, cosy and warm and a fire ready to be lit if we wanted it. Also a very tasty bowl of strawberries and a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge. So many thoughtful touches in the decor, spotlessly clean, lots of birds and squirrels in the garden, the comfiest beds ever, board games and dvds, should you need them. And don't be like me, before you start to panic that there are no mugs for tea or coffee in the kitchen, look up... they are all hanging from the ceiling!! Highly recommended and would love to go back again, even if I do live not far away. Always good to play tourist in your own local area once in a while. Puzzlewood is great for a visit, it was my first trip there... Tourist!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2018
It was terrific having you both to stay and very unusual you only living 7 miles away! Great that you discovered new places and I really enjoyed catching up on one of my favourite towns!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa-Mari...
1 review
“Badgers End Cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Lovely cottage, with all the amenities you would want or need in a beautiful location! We were greeted with chocolate fudge cake on arrival! The cottage is well located close to Puzzle wood, caves, Symonds Yat etc. Both Carol and Tony were amazing hosts exceeding our expectations! Mid week we were treated to freshly baked bread. Carols local knowledge and advise on activities my children would enjoy was invaluable. The morning of our departure Carol had let my children know that the forest fairies had left them some sweets hidden in the garden. So thoughtful and considerate, it made what is usually a tedious time for the children (us packing up) an enjoyable experience.
I would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2018
Thank you all, it was a real pleasure to host you all. I’m glad you enjoyed the forest and some of the beautiful and unusual things within it. Hopefully next time canoeing the rapids or night walks to hear the nightingales (or maybe just cream read in the garden!) x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P
1 review
“A little slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 11 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Beautiful setting in the Forest of Dean, a largely undiscovered corner of the UK - there's so much to do there if you like the outdoors. The cottage is very sweet; the front garden display of flowers this year was a delight. Really comfortable beds, cosy sitting room and the kitchen had everything we needed. Thank you for a lovely week; hopefully we'll be back another time..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, idyllic retreat with very warm and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful country cottage set in the magical Forest of Dean. A tranquil setting, you are at once at ease and it is a perfect place to unwind and relax. There are many activities on the doorstep including cycling and canoeing or alternatively walking in the stunning countryside. The cottage is very well equipped, extremely comfortable and the enclosed garden is gorgeous. Our dog, Dylan, loved every minute and he was very taken with Carol and Tony, our fabulous hosts. We would love to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing