We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb place, great location, hospitality...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leachybol...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb place, great location, hospitality second-to-none”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our first visit to Riverside Farm ... it won't be the last! The location was great - in the middle of nowhere but 1 minute from the A47! The property was modern, clean while keeping with its original farm setting. We all loved the animals being close by rabbits, goats; and the chickens even greeted us on arrival! But the best thing about Riverside is the hosts: Amanda and Andy who were friendly and so helpful and brilliant with the kids - taking them round to feed the animals every morning including walking the goats! So, we felt like we were at home. Thank you Amanda and Andy for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being made to feel so welcome
Liked least: If it's possible to improve the wifi, this would be a benefit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomsondS...
sanday uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

lovely barn conversion in a beautiful setting. Located in the centre of Norfolk so ease to get to so many places. great pub to eat at the Honnington Buck.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgpaulg
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of our best holidays ever”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We could not fault this stay at all and would give it 6 stars if we were able. The cottage was clean, facilities were modern but didn't spoil the old stable feel of the building, small touches like the freshly laid eggs on arrival added to the feeling of truly being welcome. But what made the holiday were the owners, Amanda and Andy. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Andy in particular spent the time taking our 4yr old daughter round the farm whenever she wanted, collecting the chicken's eggs for our breakfast, feeding the animals, holding & playing with them (especially the rabbits) - at times we had trouble getting her to go out on our day trips, she was so happy at the farm. I would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for making this one of our best holidays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amanda, Andy & their animals
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert V
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well-appointed property with a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We (adults and children of various ages) all enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was well-appointed and comfortable and our hosts were welcoming and helpful. We would happily stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam H
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Good Trip”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I recently took my wife, baby and parents for a trip to Norfolk and stayed at The Retreat. We booked a long weekend (Friday - Monday). The place was incredible. It was incredibly peaceful yet accessible to so the whole of Norfolk. The owner was really friendly and hospitable making you feel welcome and at home from arrival. I will definitely be returning next year and cannot recommend this place enough. Clean, spacious, relaxing, thoroughly enjoyable and great value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and its locations
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing