We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionnel - la cerise sur le gâteau”
Review of The Tudor Room

The Tudor Room
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 47 - US$ 78
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Awarded a Michelin star in October 2016, The Tudor Room is a richly decorated dining room, boasting silk lined walls and a dominant seventeenth century tapestry. It offers the intimacy of just twenty four covers. The Tudor Room at Great Fosters offers a series of tasting menus with intense flavours that change seasonally. The Tudor Room opens for lunch from 12 noon until 2pm on a Thursday & Friday and for dinner from 7pm until 9.30pm Wednesday - Saturday. Head Chef Douglas Balish changes his menus according to the seasons and his food demonstrates his passion for simple cookery with intense flavours. Produce is hand selected to ensure the best products from the finest suppliers, many of whom we have long standing relationships with. The new kitchen garden at Great Fosters also plays a major part in providing fresh, organic ingredients for the menu. Many of our vegetables and salad ingredients including aubergines, beetroot, lettuce, tomatoes, squash, onions, courgettes and fennel to name just a few are grown on our estate and picked daily. The Tudor Room was awarded 3 rosettes by The AA in September 2015.
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We went to the Tudor Room to celebrate our daughter's graduation. It was a wonderful experience. The welcome was warm. The service was flawless. Our daughter is vegetarian and she enjoyed her special menu as much as we did ours. The food was exactly what you would expect. Delicate, flavourful, beautifully presented. They even had a special attention for her at the end. Simply perfect.
Accueil très chaleureux, le service est attentionné, discret et très efficace. Les mets sont très finement présentes dans les assiettes avec des saveurs exquises et originales.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for The Tudor Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

we were very lucky to have had a gift voucher given to us for a Christmas present. This was our first visit to Great Fosters and I have to say it was a wonderful experience, we visited the Bar area we were made very welcome and served perfect coffee. We were then introduced to Tudor room manager who showed us to our table all staff were friendly and very efficient, food experience was very different, menu was explained at each course and it was all delicious, we finished off our lunch with tea and sweet treats on the patio. All in all a great present to have received. Would definitely love to visit Great Fosters again, and would recommend to family and friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travers V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at The Tudor Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to The Tudor Room for lunch.

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas present and that you for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. What a lovely treat to be given lunch for two.

I do hope that you will have another opportunity to return to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We had a walk round the lovely gardens prior to a delicious meal in a period dining room - a most enjoyable and memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CarolWOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at The Tudor Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening in The Tudor Room wit us and hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I have eaten at a number of Michelin starred restaurants, and I have to say I cannot remember leaving any other restaurant as content as I was after leaving the Tudor Room. It is small, intimate and service is amazing yes...but the food was really heavenly. This was a total treat, and we will definitely be back again...if you do decide to visit, splash out and stay in the beautiful hotel too. Absolutely brilliant meal, brilliant value and a really memorable dinner.

1  Thank PopeGregoryIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at The Tudor Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

What a fantastic review! Thank you very much for your very positive comments and glowing feedback.

I'm so pleased that we helped to create a memorable evening for you and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We took friends to Great Fosters for a celebratory anniversary mid-week lunch. We have dined here on a number of similar occasions. The lunch menu at £35 includes some tempting canapes to accompany pre lunch drinks, amuse bouche and 3 courses and is excellent value. The food looks beautiful and tastes very good indeed. Service is very attentive but discreet, with courses arriving at just the right pace and drinks topped up just when needed.

The Tudor room is small, intimate and very relaxed. Coffee was served after the meal on the terrace where the waiter secured a table in advance for us. A nice surprise for our guests was a delicious plate of petit fours with the iced message 'Happy Anniversary'. far too many to eat so some were boxed for them to take home. A surprise to us as well as the staff had acted on information we made when booking so a very welcome extra.

Only 2 small points. I would expect coffee refills to be offered, particularly as the quite large cups were barely half full on arrival, or even better, why not give pots of coffee for diners? And I still believe that service (12.5%) should be at the customers discretion to add and not to remove when it has been automatically added.

Be prepared for drinks and service to add significantly to your bill but then this is a fine dining restaurant. That said, this continues to be one of my two favourite restaurants, the other being L'Ortolan near Reading, and the lunch menu is exceptional value. Could it not be available every lunchtime and not just Thursday and Friday?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rivendellhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatFosters1931, General Manager at The Tudor Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your extremely kind comments and constructive feedback, which are both appreciated.

We are grateful to be one of your favourite restaurants and Dougie, Jara and the rest of the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tudor Room also viewed

 
Old Windsor, Windsor
Chobham, Surrey
 

Been to The Tudor Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing