We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at Leftbank”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had lunch here and got lost on the way so rang to say we would be late but the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating, the staff are helpful and friendly. The restaurant was full on a Friday lunchtime but there was plenty of choice as it is a 'eat all you want' buffet. There was lovely soup to start with, a large cold salad buffet with cheeses and breads, hot food counter with over 5 choices of different foods, rotisserie garlic and lemon chicken, turkey, beef stew, fish medley,pizza plus vegetables and then a lovely selection of hot and cold desserts. All together a lovely restaurant with views over Thames.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent lunch in Leftbank. I am delighted that our team took care of you so well and that you were spoilt for choice. I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,479 - 1,483 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was a pre-birthday lunch for for daughter who was staying with us with her son. There were 8 of us, and because the 4 four younger people can eat for England, we thought they would like the buffet rather than the new Lock and Kitchen.
As usual the food was excellent, and our waitress Lucia was also excellent, nothing was too much trouble, and she joined in with our high spirits. Everything was very good, and we were all very happy.
We had a couple of bottles of champagne in the bar first, and it was a bit chilly there, so we kept our coats on, but it was a very cold weekend.
Only half of the restaurant was being used. Not surprising as it was February, but all the guests were crammed into the 'river' side of the restaurant.
What I couldn't understand was the performance I had just to reserve the table.
I tried to book online, but as I could only book for 6 I did so, but typed in that I really wanted to book for 8 people.
Five minutes later, there was a phone call saying we could not book for 12.30 as requested, but for 1.15pm and I had to pay a £10 deposit per person as it was for 8 people.
So my husband said he would get back to them with an answer. Then I had a confirmation online from the Hotel, saying my reservation for 12.30 was accepted.
So I then emailed back saying about the phone call, and the hotel got back to me.....etc etc....this went on for some time, and I was beginning to lose the will to live, but perservered as my grandson likes the buffet at the Runnymede Hotel. So, I paid the deposit and we went on 4th.
The email did say they would provide a 'birthday plate' (whatever that is) for my daughter, but it didnt happen. Never mind, we enjoyed our pre-birthday lunch despite the aggro beforehand.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at this spa hotel for a Valentine's treat and we were not disappointed. It was easy to get to. ALL staff were friendly, helpful, polite and attentive. The buffet breakfast is something to be experienced, there was so much choice and the staff in the kitchen are happy to cook your eggs just how you want them. We had a room with a view which looked out over the Thames. The room was clean and well stocked with toiletries etc. We also ate out in the town which is a 6 min drive away (or a 10 - 15 mins walk) and at Hugo's (meditarranean). The spa is complemenatary to guests (which my husband made full use of) and I had a couple of treatments too. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 242, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnybec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I am writing this sat in my room before check out.

I was looking forward to staying at the Runnymead however it has been a real let down.

My room 253 is small overlooking a dirty roof top and aircon outlets.Nothing they can do but it should be cleaned.The carpets in the room are just filthy ,sticky and black in places,stains and it ha s not been hoovered ..

The internet both wireless and plug in did not work despite a really nice guy coming up to try and get me logged on .He said it was beacause of the location of the room. Reception said they could get someone in the "morning" to re look at it but as it was 6 pm they had no one last night. I ended up using my dongle and am not happy as I could not get the work I had planned to do competed . .

The food in the buffet restaurant was very good however room serivce breakfast was not .I did not get what I asked for,the tea was cold and instead of jam they put ketchup on my tray!

This is so sad as the setting is wonderful and it makes a nice change to be somewhere away from the hotels at Heathrow when you have a business meeting however with no internet (free or otherwise) these days is just not acceptable for business people,the poor room does not warrant the star rating this place has .Such a shame

Room Tip: Ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously and I believe our Marketing Manager has been corresponding with you regarding your disappointing stay since initially speaking to you on departure from the hotel.
To try and prevent the re-occurrence of these events we have revisited the training given to our team on the wireless connections to the internet as we do have coverage throughout the hotel with no black spots.
I am truly sorry that you experienced lapses in our room service and housekeeping standards. The carpets in this room along with all the others in the section of the hotel where you were staying are being replaced on our rolling maintenance programme, but nevertheless they should still be clean.
I am sorry that on this occasion we did not afford you the standards on which we normally pride ourselves and I do hope that you will return so that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here last July, booked it for my wedding anniversary. What a great choice, this is probably the best hotel we have stayed at, could not fault anything, restaurant excellent, bar good, rooms good. And service was good too.

Room Tip: Guessing all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is really good to see that you enjoyed your anniversary stay and found every element of the hotel to be good.
We look forward to seeing you soon
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
2.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,140 reviews
15.0 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
10.5 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
27.1 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
189 reviews
17.0 km away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Egham
Price Range: ₹ 11,084 - ₹ 20,535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing