We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful home from home cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Brook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Suite Double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Master Suite
Double room
Main Bathroom
Christmas at The Brook
Christmas at The Brook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane A
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Brook with our children for five nights in July 2018. Initial impressions were great ....... stunning house with some beautiful furnishings. Problems came to light pretty quickly, though. The wooden strip joining the landing floor to the master bedroom floor wasn't stuck down and came off, causing me to trip. Not the best start. The owner had the strip stuck down when I made her aware. The master bedroom furnishings were lovely, but let down by what looked like ear wax stuck to the headboard. The bedding was beautifully soft and clean, with the exception of the throw on the bed, which was stained in a few places with what looked like blood. The en suite was beautifully fitted, but the toilet needed a good clean. There was a terrible smell of sewers from the en suite, which would come and go. The only other problem with the bedrooms was that the bottom shelf of the wardrobe in the room with bunk beds was thick with dust, which left marks on our clothes. The sitting room had a beautiful wooden floor, but it was spoilt by the fact that it needed a really good clean. I wiped a piece of damp kitchen roll on the floor and the dirt on it was evident. Again, the furnishings in the sitting room were beautiful, with the exception of two small arm chairs which were very badly worn. In all honestly, I wouldn't have them in my own home, let alone a 5* holiday let. The dining part of the kitchen features an absolutely stunning restored Aga cooker and is floored in beautiful flagstones. The dining table is covered by an oilcloth which had dried-in food stuck to it. Plenty of place mats were provided, but they needed cleaning. One in particular had dried-on food stuck to it and another had been badly defaced. When I told the owner about these, they were removed. On the table was a vase of white Carnations. They would have been lovely had a lot of them not been dead and withered. The owner replaced these with fresh flowers during our stay. The kitchen has lovely painted units and granite work surfaces. The fridge/freezer is large, though the shelves needed a wipe out before we placed our food inside. When heating sausage rolls, we removed an oven tray from the cupboard to place them on. It was ABSOLUTELY FILTHY and thick with charred food. Even the owner agreed that it was disgusting. Another item, a large glass bowl, was covered in dirty marks. The kitchen, in general, wasn't too bad, but more attention could be paid to ensuring crockery is clean and replacing chipped crockery. The housekeeper had forgotten to replenish the dishwasher tablets, but this was easily solved by us purchasing some. The family bathroom features a beautiful roll top bath, corner shower unit, wash hand basin and toilet. The toilet cistern had become loose from the wall and needed securing. Replacement toilet rolls weren't provided, so we had to buy some. We hadn't been made aware that the water heater in the property didn't work and only found out when the shower in the en suite was cold for our morning showers. When we enquired, the owner told us that the water heater had never worked and that we should heat the water by the hot water button on the central heating controls. One evening, it became a little chilly, so we put the central heating on. After being on for two hours, there was very little heat in the downstairs radiators. They were barely tepid. Upstairs was laid with lovely wooden floors (which appeared to be cleaner than the sitting room floor), but there were several large gaps between the boards which really spoilt the look. The property is situated on a very busy road, so a lot of road noise is to be expected. All in all, we were very disappointed with our stay at The Brook. The cleanliness was very poor and attention to detail very lacking. More upkeep was definitely required. The owner did leave us a bottle of wine, but it was too little, too late. It was most definitely not the 5* experience promised in the advertising! We found the property to be 3* at best, with cleanliness scoring 1*. Included are photographs showing some of the issues we encountered. Most definitely not worth the considerable amount of money we paid for our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful home from home cottage”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed at the cottage around 4 times now and will definitely be back!!! The cottage is a credit to Rosemary and reflects her own personality... she is so easy to deal with and always puts an extra touch to make your stay more personal. So much character in the cottage and the attention to detail is second to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyingr...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at The Brook and we love it. A wonderful welcome of fresh flowers, yummy sweet treats and a toasty warm Agar keeping the cottage warm. Such a wonderful cottage with big comfy beds, fantastic lounge room, great kitchen, good showers and a fantastic bath. Great for families with a large grassed area and playground for the kids to burn off steam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Hi Sally
Thank you so much for your very kind comment . It was great to see you back in Northern Ireland again.. Hope to see you and your family again and are most welcome at The Brook..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodboy40...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. The renovation of this building has been very tastefully done with great attention to period detail.

This cottage has everything you need for a self catering break, but if you feel like going out, Fivemiletown has a couple of nice bars and Eniskillen is only a taxi drive away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcmama
muscat
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely home”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely few days at The Brook. It is beautifully furnished with comfortable beds and all you need for a delightful visit to this part of the world. It is close to the main road, so does not feel secluded, but we didn't notice the traffic and the views from the sitting room window are still delightfully countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing