We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fowey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fowey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed for 1 night and loved the location and the hotel. The staff are wonderful and extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. Restaurant food is a very high standard with a good varierty. Highly recommended for a taste of old english charm and hospitality. Just one tip - parking is very limited and needs to be booked in advance.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    324
    77
    27
    19
See reviews for
136
890
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I only stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel was beautiful, the room comfortable and the staff was vert friendly. We had lovely weather and had drinks outside the bar watching the harbour while the sun set. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was excellent. We would love to come back to this hotel for a longer stay if we ever are travelling to the area again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have made many visits to The Fowey Hotel and, recently made a longer stay than before. 5 nights this time and left wonderfully refreshed. The views from the hotel are so memorable. If you relish watching ship activity this is the place. The very friendly and helpful staff compliment a very efficient organization. Though car parking can be a slight problem we have found that Train travel is a restful alternative and Par station is easily reached by the hotel organized Taxis.
David Turner

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is a really lovely hotel with old fashioned values, in a good way! The staff are very friendly and efficient and go out of their way to be helpful. Our room (404) was superb, very luxurious and spacious, with superb views across the estuary to Polruan. What a joy to lie in bed and watch the boats leaving the harbour in the morning sunshine.
The hotel's reputation for good food was more than lived up to and we had wonderful dinners on three nights. Also tea in the bar area is excellent, with fabulous views through the picture windows over the harbour.
Reserving a parking space is a really good idea and well worth the extra cost.
The location is perfect, with easy access to Fowey town to the left and Readymoney Cove and the coast walks to the right. Also the ferry to Polruan leaves from the landing stage a short distance away.
Altogether a great hotel and we had a wonderfully relaxing stay.
Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra cost for a sea view. Our premier room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireUnimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I booked a very short notice break through Late Rooms which stated we should have been paying £205 B&B but they were offering it for £158 which included a cream tea and bottle of house champagne..
When we arrived at the hotel I was disappointed to discover this was their normal rate and the £205 was including dinner.
However, the hotel staff were wonderful and so helpful when we checked in. They managed to find a parking space in their tiny car park for us for the two nights.
The porter carried our bags up to our room.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and thankfully had a lift as we were on the top floor. However, some thoughtless guests were not shutting the gates when they left the lift meaning the next person to call it on another floor would first have climb the stairs to find it and shut the gates for it to work again.
The room was beautifully decorated if a little small, and a double rather than king size bed which we are used to. The bathroom was spotless. They were very generous with the teas coffees milks and biscuits in the room.There was also a small cafetiere and a lovely selection of coffees which my husband loved. We were also given a ticket for a free coffee in the bar on arrival.
There was no tv remote in our room which meant getting out of bed to switch channels or switch it off etc which was a bit of a pain. We did report it the first day but one didn't appear before we departed.
It was also very hot the first night and although we had the window open as far as it would go and turned off the radiator in the room, there was a heated towel rail in the bathroom which was very hot and could not be turned off and so our room was like an oven even keeping the bathroom door shut and the fan on. We asked the staff if it could be switched off but it was still on full blast at the time we checked out. We did however find a fan in the wardrobe which was a God send.

The breakfasts were superb although it stated there should have been ham and cheeses we did not find any. There was however a lovely choice including hot cooked to order Full English, kippers as well as cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and freshly baked pastries.
The hotel advertises they have wifi in public areas but we failed to get either of our iphones to work and the general reception in Fowey for mobiles was sketchy to say the least. This is the only reason I have given them 4/5
The cream tea was to die for, and we enjoyed the champagne later that evening in the bar which made our stay seem very special.
We enjoyed drinks on the terrace overlooking the estuary the next evening and had superb views of yachts coming and going as the sun set.
There were plenty of places to eat and drink in the town and we did not eat in the hotel restaurant.
Will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the lift which was a bit noisy. A view of the estuary is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Old Quay House Hotel
0.2 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
34.4 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
10.3 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
11.2 km away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fowey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fowey Hotel

Property: The Fowey Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Fowey PL23 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,469 - ₹ 15,269
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fowey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made famous by the celebrated authoress, Daphne du Maurier, and ranked as one of the UK’s most desirable locations, the pretty Cornish town of Fowey, is a delight to explore. Clusters of characterful buildings, cottages and shops tumble down the hillside to rub shoulders with those stacked along the curving main street, which runs parallel to the Fowey estuary. The Fowey Hotel, with its wonderful views over the town, estuary and the sea is the perfect place from which to explore it all!There's plenty to do and see too. Shopping is fun, with a variety of independent specialist shops, galleries and delicatessens - with not a high street name in sight! The town is a most pleasant walk from end to end; to be taken at a reasonable dawdle, in order not to miss a bit as there are some wonderful surprises just round every corner.From here you can venture east or west along the South West coast path and walk for miles or drive no more than a short distance, to visit the numerous sights and attractions situated in this lush, verdant area of Cornwall.The Fowey Hotel is part of Richardson Hotels of Distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Fowey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Fowey
Fowey The Hotel
The Fowey Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing