We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
170
88
41
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
88
41
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflaming grillmetro centreteam valleyattached restaurantgood nights sleepvery friendly helpful staffcar parkretail parkrooms were spotlessgreat north runsat navhandy locationcontinental breakfaston arrivalnight's sleepcomfortable bedcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I didn't believe our Sat Nav when it took us here. All of the signs are not lit up and all we could see was the pub! What confuses things further is that there's another Premier Inn just up the road which IS easy to see from the road with a whacking great big illuminated sign.

My guess about the poor signs is that the pub next door is owned by a rival (Greene King) and the owners of Premier Inn, Whitbread, probably keep this one as an overflow.

Once you do find it, then it's faultless. The staff are OUTSTANDING. Everyone exceptionally friendly and welcoming with a smile. The room was big and cleaned to a very high standard. It even had an old school door key!

The location is absolutely brilliant. Just minutes away from Beamish, Tanfield Railway and the Metro Centre, where we had our evening meal one of the nights. The Waggon Team pub next door was also very good for our first night.

Definitely recommended. Premier Inn does it again!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CockneyBrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

Average hotel after a busy day shopping we checked in and went to our room. The room was cold and felt damp. We did rectify this by adjusting the room temp and went out for something to eat. When we returned the room felt much better. Would stay again as it is close to the shops and typical of what I would expect.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank mammamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Standard Premier Inn facilities but breakfast provided by pub next door is not up to standard.
Hotel cannot deal with complaints re breakfast as third party provider.
Room not properly serviced during stay, car park badly lit.

Roadworks on A1 can make access difficult, particularly when they close the road!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank GrumpyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Services at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2015

Hi GrumpyBridge

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay.

I'm really sorry to hear your breakfast in the Waggon Team wasn't up to standard. As you're aware, this isn't a Whitbread run establishment but I'll ensure your feedback is passed onto Flaming Grill, who own the restaurant.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay so please accept my apologies that the hotel fell far short of your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

I hope this experience hasn't put you off staying with us in future and we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Darren Brown
Premier Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this premier Inn for 2 nights. The location is great if you drive as it's directly off the A1. It's also really easy to get to the city from here as we drove both times and parked in a car park by the life museum (£6 for 5-10hrs). We were always welcomed as we always are with Premier Inn, and as you expect, great beds. We have a 9 month old and we were on the 1st floor, they don't have a lift so bare that in mind but we had help from reception with our bags and pram. Even though it's next to the A1, I didn't hear any road noise in the day or night, even though there were roadworks underway. Recommended if you want to stay in Newcastle at a great price.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

First time in this Premier Inn, stayed one night as we were attending a wedding, tried to book into the other one, about a mile away but was fully booked , so pleased we stayed at this one.
Staff very polite and efficient, rooms clean and have everything you need, just a problem with getting wifi but I wasn't that concerned and didn't want to pay £5 for the upgrade, I feel in this day and age this should be free.
Flaming grill attached so was more than pleased we didn't have to go out to find breakfast.
Breakfast was excellent value for money, fruit, cereals, different breads, and a full English, choose whatever selection you wanted, and all served by a very pleasant and welcoming waitress.
Well done Premier Inn, we have now found an excellent place to stop when we visit our son and daughter-in-law in Low Fell just 10 minutes away, I feel certain we will become regulars.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the team valley dual carriageway, no noise at all.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews