We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faulty towers”
Review of Ravensdene Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ravensdene Lodge
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“faulty towers”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we stayed here for just one night...the bedroom door didnt lock from outside the room, we were moved to another room where we discovered dog bones and stale food in the cupboard and spare blanket smelled of damp dog.
Went to the restuarant for our meal, after waiting a long time my wifes food was given to someone else who started eating it, when waitress realised her mistake she took the food back off the other customer and instead off getting a fresh meal, gave my wife the plate.
Was woken up due to a group of guys in opposite room who had stolen a girls shoes so she was at their door shouting for them back and all i was told was they will lose their deposit.
Breakfast wasnt that great, coffee was cold and the guys from night before were down swearing and being loud, the manager doubled as maintainance. although problems tried to be resolved..it just wasnt good enough as put to worse than we originally had.

Room Tip: book some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    50
    31
    28
    77
See reviews for
31
43
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edenbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Rooms not cleaned, could barely see through the window it was so dirty, opened a draw and it fell apart. Satellite TV was non existent, terrestrial TV was very poor picture. The walls appear to be made of paper as I could hear every word from adjoining rooms as well as the corridor (a two night stay with virtually no sleep).

Room Tip: If you want a good room stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gateshead hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Been here a few times and reception staff cant do enough for you, they are absoultey outstanding. But im afraid the breakfast was not good at all the breakfast staff werent interested in the customers and the food was rubbery. I think it would work alot better with 1 host for breakfast to see to the customers. Rooms very nice, large and comfortable. Would go back but it there was somewhere near there with a nice breakfast would probably go there as i feel it spoiled what were really nice times there. Some for the management to look at i think !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Good, clean, spacious, well appointed rooms. Food was close to being inedible.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor which was recently renovated. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

we have just travelled back from newcastle to bournemouth after a great stag weekend the 10 of us stayed at this hotel .
well what can i say its all good we arrived and were made to feel very welcome the ladies on reception were friendly and good laugh ,the hotel is clean and tidy bar staff friendly and good laugh they had a great beer offer on the fri nite and a top live group. the food was also good to

we have all said if we go back up there we would stay in this hotel again for sure taxis are fast relible and not exspensive

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bournemouthpaul1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.8 km away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
470 reviews
4.4 km away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
292 reviews
4.6 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
401 reviews
2.1 km away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
355 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensdene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensdene Lodge

Property: Ravensdene Lodge
Address: 55 Consett Road | Lobley Hill, Gateshead NE11 0AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,397 - ₹ 6,794
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravensdene Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ravensdene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensdene Hotel Gateshead
Ravensdene Lodge Gateshead, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing