We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted !!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orlestone House

Sunrise from Orlestone House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise from Orlestone House
Orlestone House Spacious Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Sunrise from Orlestone House
Orlestone House
Spacious Lounge
View of patio from lounge
Kitchen with six seat table and TV
Kitchen showing woodburning stove and American style fridge freezer
Kitchen wood burning stove
Lounge and TV viewing
Main bedroom
Family bathroom with shower
Basement bedroom
Main bed, basement bedroom
Basement shower room
What a view from the prom!
Sunday bandstand - tea, cake or ice-cream?
Ancient limestone formations, Hampsfell
Bay view from Orlestone House
What a view! River Kent and Morecambe Bay from Hampsfell
A view of the garden
Spacious Lounge
Lounge with bay view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Grange-over-Sands, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deepesh B
1 review
“Just what we wanted !!”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a high quality, modern apt. Clean, stylish and very well done. Really felt at home. It has everything you possibly need for a comfortable stay. There is one large bedroom in basement with 1 big double bed and 2 single bed. One more bedroom on ground floor. Kitchen had all the utensils, amenities, cutlery required. They even kept a few dishwasher tablets. There was a small TV in the kitchen so kids enjoyed watching while having breakfast/lunch. Location was good and a nice view from the living room of the street and far away bay. We were lucky to have good weather. Enough parking available. Read the owners instructions properly to see how to and where to park. Went for a walk with kids on some mornings and nice houses in the neighbourhood. There were books to read, guides on what to see in Grange and Lake district. Windermere was 20 mins drive but didn't feel too long. There was a nice pond in grange so half a day in grange is a good idea to spend. The paintings and other white goods in house were very good as well. The only downside if I may say was is that we found it a bit expensive...but it was worth it as we did late booking. The family loved the place !! The owners have taken personal interest in doing up the property. In summer you could sit outside for a nice lunch /breakfast .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the place, modern, high spec
Liked least: a bit expensive
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAMELA J
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Immaculate accommodation.”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The accommodation was almost perfect , really clean and very well supplied with everything we needed. We met the owner when we arrived and he invited us to help ourselves to mange tout, salad and flowers from the garden.
We were a little concerned about the distance from the property to the shops ect. My mother is 86 and tho' very fit finds walking distances quite tiring. However no problem, we walked in via the road and came back along the very interesting promenade. Fabulous butcher and baker in town.
Great views from the sitting room, ever changing because of the tide, Lovely patio to sit on if the weather allows, although the road is quite close the noise wasn't too obvious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: We are used to a bigger bed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofmann78
1 review
“Fantastic location and very spacious clean flat”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I had a fantastic time at Orlestone House. Great location. So easy to get to places.
Flat was spacious, with huge window in the living room. The view was sensational and we even saw an incredible rainbow. We were very sad to leave and hope to be back next year. I have already recommended it to a friend of mine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E3194YIbe...
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful apartment - lovely area we really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The apartment was lovely, very clean and well appointed. My grandson (18) loved the
pretend spider that was in a mitten on the fire. Grange over sands was such a pretty spot and we enjoyed travellin to other areas in the beautiful Lakes District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful accommodation
Liked least: Lack of variety of nearby restaurants
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2013
Thank you for your supportive review. Cartmel is a great place for pubs and eating, as is Allithwaite, both short car journey or within walking distance. A trip on the train (one stop) to Arnside, where there are two pubs and fish & chips is well worth it. I am working on a website to inform guests more - so watch this space! Thanks, and do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing