We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot day's walk...........”
Review of Belton Park

Belton Park
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Took the dog and we went to Belton House to walk round the deer park. Boy, it was hot; the deer knew how to deal with it, though, all lying down in the shade of large trees.

It's very scenic, even when the grass in the park is crispy and dry. We walked along the drive directly away from the house and then turned right into the wood land and along the side of the ponds; loads of dragonflies to (try to) photograph and then a huge heron flew slowly past. Lovely to see and I actually managed to photograph it reasonably well.

Belton is a wonderful place but I have to say that at £24 for a couple of adults just to get into the grounds - the house is extra - it's an expensive dog walk.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank lawdylawdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"adventure playground"
in 10 reviews
"national trust"
in 13 reviews
"excellent playground"
in 2 reviews
"we'll return"
in 2 reviews
"stately home"
in 6 reviews
"dog walk"
in 2 reviews
"round the grounds"
in 2 reviews
"children's play area"
in 3 reviews
"school holidays"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"train ride"
in 4 reviews
"nt membership"
in 2 reviews
"second hand bookshop"
in 2 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 3 reviews
"interesting house"
in 2 reviews
"kids love"
in 2 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 5 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

This National Trust property just north of Grantham is well worth a visit. There are lots of grounds and gardens to explore. The house has lots of interesting rooms each with enthusiast NT Volunteers to tell you the features and history. It has some unique furniture which is well worth seeing.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank WickersWorld50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

full of fun for kids in a natural setting places for the adults to sit too. Next to the grounds and house toon for kids in a natuaral setting places for the adults to sit too. Next to the grounds and house too for a bit of history

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank IreneD1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

My wife had to see this place as she used it to produce her 1/4 scale house (mansion). Great place to have a picnic

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 1petworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

As it was a nice, sunny Saturday, after recent rain, we decided to take advantage of our NT membership and take our grandson out for the day.
We chose Belton Park near Grantham and, even though we hadn't realised that a horse event was taking place there, we were very glad we did: our grandson really enjoyed the open spaces to run about in and the adventure playground was excellent, catering for most ages of youngster. The gardens were lovely for this time of the year and we'll return in the Summer when we shall also go round the house as well. There is a maze, a litte ltrain that takes you round the grounds and sufficient places to walk and work up an appetite.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belton Park also viewed

Grantham, Lincolnshire
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Belton Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing