We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenscourt House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ravenscourt House
Certificate of Excellence
Rockport, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This small hotel run by a lovely Scottish couple is a terrific find. Our room was very comfortable, the hotel was well placed in Grantown and the food was absolutely wonderful. It being rather out of season the restaurant was open at dinner for guests only on request. Our second night we asked if we might have dinner in the hotel and what a great decision that was on our part. It was phenomenal and very reasonably priced. They've a fine selection of single malts at reasonable prices as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnieDRockport_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    22
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed there twice and we were delighted every time. Nive rooms, outstanding eating (ask for the whisky sauce!) and a well equipped (whisky) bar.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolgerWhisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here some time ago,and thought it was the best hotel on the planet!!!
Long drive up from the south, but looked after us brilliantly. Surperb food great location and good clean room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NobbyC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

This establishment is run more on the lines of a 'licensed guest house' than a hotel. If you are looking for room service or a bustling bar and restaurant this is not for you. However if you like a homely atmosphere you will love it here. Bedrooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. Loved the high quality soft and fluffy bathrobes and towels. We had ample storage space, something you rarely get, and there was a very comfortable seating area with wing-back chairs, coffee table, TV, DVD player all enjoyed as we relaxed over a late night glass of wine!

The meals were excellent, each evening we were offered three choices of starter, three of mains and at least three desserts. A lot of trouble taken especially when on both evenings there were no more than four diners including us! We could not fault the quality, quantity, presentation or taste, delicious! Breakfast was one of the best we have had, everything you could possibly want. The 'freshly squeezed' orange juice and delicious free range eggs both deserve a special mention.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thank you Andrew!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrkneygalPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We were made very welcome, the bedroom (No1) was spacious with 2 easy chair, TV, tea & coffee making facilities & lovely biscuits. The bed was the huge bigger than a king size & very comfortable. The restaurant wasn't open whilst we were there but we found enough places to eat only a short walk away. The hotel served alcohol & there were price lists but there were only cans of beer or lager - none on draught, thought I have to say the prices were reasonable. Breakfast was fab, cooked to order & piping hot, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caroxLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
0.2 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
5.1 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
5.0 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.7 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
7.8 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscourt House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscourt House

Property: Ravenscourt House
Address: Seafield Avenue | Morayshire, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,104 - ₹ 12,736
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 8 room family-run guest house with two lounges, conservatory and bar. Within two minutes of the centre of Grantown-on-Spey and within walking distance of restaurants. Wifi in all rooms. Within close proximity to whisky and castle trails. Ample free parking on site. Good sized comfortable rooms, including a family suite, doubles, triples and twins. Some rooms are available for single occupancy. We will always do our best to make your stay a great one. Calum & Kathy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ravenscourt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenscourt Hotel Grantown On Spey
Ravenscourt House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing