We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely welcome, great house which is well...”
The Pines House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pines House
Drawing Room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Pines House
Drawing Room
Sitting Room
Family Room off Kitchen
Family Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Room 5
Room 5
Room 6
Room 3
Room 4
Room 1
Room 1 Ensuite
Room 7
Room 7 window
Room 8
Room 10 Ensuite
Room 9
Family Bathroom
Room 2
Garden
Play room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Amgray06
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, great house which is well equipped; with a dinning table fit for 20 curry fiends!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Booked this property for my partners 40th. Lucy couldn't have been more accommodating with booking arrangements and staged payments. Upon arrival was greeted to a lovely birthday suprise on the chalkboard, biscuits and wine. Jay and Lucy came around later to tell us about the property and then left us to our own devices in this character property which has to be one of the best well-equipped self-catering properties I have rented. The property offered lots of space for kids and adults alike, being right on the speyside way and with a short distance to the Cairngorms. We had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped it was.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fi_S1
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely house, lovely break”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We're just back from a great family get-together at The Pines. The house is gorgeous and really well-equipped with everything we needed, and more. Highlights included a playroom with loads of toys and the huge garden with trampoline, climbing frames etc. These certainly kept the 9 children in our party amused. The house is ideally situated for walks in Aganach woods and is also only a few minutes away from the town centre. The owners were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. All in all, very highly recommended.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamC223
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday house”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at The Pines earlier this month for a three night family break The house is gorgeous and was the perfect size to accommodate 17 people. We loved the large living areas and the cosy coal fires. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed to cater for a large crowd. It was good to find things like salt and pepper, olive oil, teabags and coffee already in the cupboards. Also washing up liquid, cloths etc. We've stayed in holiday houses before which did not supppy these items. We also appreciated the fresh fruit, bottle of wine and cookies on the breakfast bar. The industrial dishwasher was well used although sometimes the dishes had to be put back ìn for a second wash. The two fridges came in handy as did the plate warmer. We cooked the first night and served dinner in the dining room. It was fantastic to seat everyone around the huge table. The second night we orderd takeaway Indian and Chinese from the restaurants on the Main Street. We were disappointed with all the food and would not recommend either restaurant. The third night we had a lovely meal and really good service at the Garth Hotel.
Lucy and Jay have thought of everything to make this holiday house perfect. We loved all the luxury touches such as the high quality bed linen and towels, the nice soaps and shampoo in every bathroom. The house is idealy situated for lovely walks and only a few minutes walk from the town centre.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenny0619
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect luxury retreat”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at the Pines for three nights a few weeks ago a family , party of 14 plus 2 small children.
Jay and Lucy were very welcoming, and took time to explain the features of the house, and also answered our questions on places to eat ad drink in Grantown.

The Pines is fabulously well equipped, with the huge Range cooker the main feature in the kitchen, industrial quality dishwasher,, very, large fridge and separate large fridge freezer, and very plentiful supply of all crockery etc.
Attention to detail and quality was evident too in each of the bedrooms, with very good quality bed linen, plentiful fluffy towels and good quality organic bathroom soaps.

The three very large well furnished lounges wee perfect for relaxing in the evenings, especially on the Saturday after our 10 miile sponsored walk.

For parties such as ours with small children, the large childrens playroom is very well stocked with a wide range of toys, and there's also the large garden with trampoline.

For dining, we used the very large formal dining room, on one of the evenings, and on the other evenings we dined less formally at the huge dining table/breakfast bar in the kitchen,

In summary, we really enjoyed our stay at the Pines, the quality of the accommodation is first class, the attention to detail and quality is evident throughout. We have no hesitation in recommending the Pines to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, and quality of furniture, and equipment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harboy
dundee,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the pines house is perfect”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Stayed a weekend here with a large family 16 of us . Varying ages but the house exactly what was needed. Large rooms, eight with en suites,3 lounges, playroom for younger elemen,t an amazing dining room( only thing missing was a butler) and a large and very well-equipped
dining kitchen. A large garden and forest walks literally on the doorstep.helped keep everyone occupied. Would have scored 10 out of 10,,,,but it rained,sso it has to be 9.5.
Thanks Lucy and Jay for a warm welcome and a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing