We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
168
125
34
16
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
125
34
16
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scottish hotel venison friendly hotel lovely meal sunday lunch the main street small hotel lovely room first class warm welcome black pudding four poster bed dining room enjoyable stay evening meal excellent value for money gareth
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Had a nice night staff very good and friendly food good but a wee bit dear but overall good value.
Will stop here again Granton is a nice town and hotel was dog friendly so great place for walks with dog .

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

The Garth was a gorgeous setting for nearby mountain walks and distillery tours. The food was delicious -- smoked salmon, full Scottish breakfast, homemade soup -- and the whisky was perfect. (I tried to replicate one of the sandwiches at home and failed, I admit.... "pickle" is truly a U.K.-only delicacy.)

The proprietor, Melvin, served us at the bar. He was a delight and made us feel at home with stories, whisky recommendations, and distillery tour tips.

Loved the hospitality and the atmosphere. Would gladly come back again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Curiosity756420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the festive period. Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms/general decor of the hotel is now very tired - carpet wearing to the stairs/furniture old. We did not sample dinner at the hotel but had breakfast every morning which showed many inconsistencies both in the portions served and items missed off from the plates...bit hit and miss what actually appeared on the full Scottish breakfast/Speyside special. Size of rooms also very hit and miss, some rooms appeared to be a lot larger than others but charged at the same rate and very poor sound proofing - we could hear the conversations of the people next door.
It was very icy during our stay and the car park at the back of the hotel resembled an ice rink at times, so would have thought they could have salted the surfaces. I appreciate we were probably there at peak season but to charge almost London type prices for at best a three star experience is very disappointing

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Recently spent 4 nights in this hotel. We were there for a midwinter break and to celebrate our joint birthday (22 Jan). The staff were all very efficient and friendly and the food "to die for" ...particularly recommend the Venison. On the downside the Hotel did look a little tired in places but everything was clean and working OK.

Room Tip: Pick a lower room if you dont like stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PETER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Annual golf trip to Scotland and this year was Granton-on-Spey and the Garth Hotel.
Very nice personable Hotel rooms were cosy and clean. The bar and restaurant in the Hotel were very good, like home cooking very relaxing.

Definitely would stay again. Good value

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews