We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ben Mhor Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 128
US$ 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Craiglynne Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 122
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardenbeg Bunkhouse(Grantown-on-Spey)
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Dulaig(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunallan House(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dava School House(Grantown-on-Spey)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Arms Hotel(Grantown-on-Spey)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
164
124
34
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
124
34
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenisonscottish hotellovely mealfriendly hotelsunday lunchthe main streetsmall hotelopen firelovely roomfirst classblack puddingwarm welcomefour poster beddining roomenjoyable stayevening mealexcellent value for money
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 357 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

The Garth was a gorgeous setting for nearby mountain walks and distillery tours. The food was delicious -- smoked salmon, full Scottish breakfast, homemade soup -- and the whisky was perfect. (I tried to replicate one of the sandwiches at home and failed, I admit.... "pickle" is truly a U.K.-only delicacy.)

The proprietor, Melvin, served us at the bar. He was a delight and made us feel at home with stories, whisky recommendations, and distillery tour tips.

Loved the hospitality and the atmosphere. Would gladly come back again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the festive period. Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful the rooms/general decor of the hotel is now very tired - carpet wearing to the stairs/furniture old. We did not sample dinner at the hotel but had breakfast every morning which showed many inconsistencies both in the portions served and items missed off from the plates...bit hit and miss what actually appeared on the full Scottish breakfast/Speyside special. Size of rooms also very hit and miss, some rooms appeared to be a lot larger than others but charged at the same rate and very poor sound proofing - we could hear the conversations of the people next door.
It was very icy during our stay and the car park at the back of the hotel resembled an ice rink at times, so would have thought they could have salted the surfaces. I appreciate we were probably there at peak season but to charge almost London type prices for at best a three star experience is very disappointing

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Recently spent 4 nights in this hotel. We were there for a midwinter break and to celebrate our joint birthday (22 Jan). The staff were all very efficient and friendly and the food "to die for" ...particularly recommend the Venison. On the downside the Hotel did look a little tired in places but everything was clean and working OK.

Room Tip: Pick a lower room if you dont like stairs.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PETER J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Annual golf trip to Scotland and this year was Granton-on-Spey and the Garth Hotel.
Very nice personable Hotel rooms were cosy and clean. The bar and restaurant in the Hotel were very good, like home cooking very relaxing.

Definitely would stay again. Good value

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

My review is for the restaurant and bar area. We didn't stay here on this occasion but looks so lovely. We went for dinner . The staff were very attentive. The food was lovely . A very cosy setting a real home from home feel. Would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't stay on this occasion.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ggtothegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews