We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
75
99
89
44
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
99
89
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour barkippersthe sea life centresea frontnight porterpleasure beachgreat roomwould stay againtea and coffee facilitiescoach partypleasant staybed and breakfastyogurtsuiteentertainmentpromenadesinger
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Room was fine, clean and a good view, décor throughout is tired, very 70s, building in it time would have been grand, needs money spent, its such a shame for a listed building to look so shabby, The Staff were Amazing and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your constructive feedback it was pleasing to read that certain areas met your expectations whilst others did not. Your comments have been forwarded on to our Operations Manager to review and make any necessary changes. We hope that we can welcome you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We came for a lunch and we found here very accommodating they were also very friendly and I would recommend for a lunch , it is dated as many people have said but if you can get past that then it is definitely service with a smile, only down side was the menu was limited but as it wasn’t very busy that’s understandable would recommend if you want a light lunch with good customer service and somewhere cool to eat.

Room Tip: Didn’t stay in a room
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jo m W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your visit. We certainly hope you will be back to visit us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We use Tripadvisor all over the world to choose our accommodation and if I had been booking our hotel for Great Yarmouth I would have run screaming based on the reviews.
However my sister had booked a weekend here with my Mum and as we were just back in the UK after several years we decided to come with them and it made no sense to book a different property.
I was not looking forward to the hotel but reasoned it was just a place to put our heads down.
The location is knockout right by the old Winter Gardens on the front
The only negative of our whole stay was that we chose the same weekend as a Motorcycle show one day and a classic car show the next, I loved it the others not so much!!
This meant when we first arrived we could not park near the hotel and used the long stay on the front ,500 yards away ,however the hotel advice was spot on and by 17:00 there were spaces right outside where we left the car for the rest of the weekend.
Check in was pleasant and easy and we were lucky enough to get 2nd floor facing the beach next door to my Mum while my sister got 3rd floor facing south.
You need to understand before you go this is a listed building built in 1844 as 3 villas and were later joined to create a hotel ,
This is not a Premier Inn or an Ibis , we have stayed in both chains and enjoy them, but an old English building.
The floor in our room was uneven but that is how they were built over 150 years ago, there were odd staircases all over the place we found 5 different ways to get to our room , there is a reading room which oozes character and many others things to find.
Yes the rooms are tired but we found everything worked and the beds were firm and clean , there was a TV , kettle and tea/coffee making facilities.
Again we had confidence in the staff we met that any issues would have been resolved.
Finally the food again I had visions of a Fawlty Towers experience but we arrived for breakfast as they opened to be welcomed and sat promptly
There is a separate room with cereals and juices including very tasty hot porridge and the main menu was cooked to order freshly.
We had cereal first fresh tea and coffee was delivered and could be replenished , the breakfast choice was good and we had between us full English , poached eggs on toast , fresh toast but you could also choose from pancakes , vegetarian and other choices.
The staff was so friendly and helpful and the food piping hot and fresh.
I know the hotel is part of The Grand UK Hotel group and I am not sure if they are improving ongoing but the experience we had was great and the added bonus was that we paid £5 less a night with full English than a chain hotel 25 minute walk from the sea front!!

Room Tip: 206 great view of beach
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

Stayed 3 nights. Room just OK, no view just looked on to the next building. The room very hot and stuffy and the window didn’t stay open so we put a book on the window sill to hold it up! Walls are thin and you can hear the guests n the next room. Old style door lock which is bad as security goes, because if the wrong person wanted to get in your room they could just lean against it or push a piece of card in and it would open. Very dated hotel and in need of upgrade. The bar area is like something out of the 1970’s and nothing entices you to sit in there and have a drink. As for the breakfast, absolutely disgraceful. Scrambled egg with a long black hair in it, filthy tables not cleared and set for the next guests, extremely slow service and mixed up orders. There seems to be no organisation whatsoever either with the waitresses or ktchen staff. On our last day (Sunday) we got our breakfast after a 20 minute wait (not exactly what we ordered but we took it) then waited 35 minutes for our toast. The young waitresses have no idea of how to do a simple job and work as a team. They would take food out to the tables and walk straight past the dirty table without clearing it (except for Kana) who was running around apologising to guests, clearing tables, serving and fixing problems. It was watching a series of Fawlty Towers!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kimandaussiebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at vanessa.hagg@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your full postal address. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

My son booked this hotel for one night for us as we had been to BSB on Sunday 17th June. Booked in very friendly. Old style hotel no frills. Loved the spiral staircase & the feel of an older hotel. Good room on 3rd floor with sea views. Good nights sleep. Great location. Get a pint 24/7. Breakfast very nice. Kippers cooked to perfection by Chris the chef. Lovely Japanese young lady serving it. All staff very nice & welcoming. Not to everybody's taste. A proper old Yarmouth hotel. Thankyou Nelson.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa H, Guest Relations Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews