We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Nelson”
Review of The Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nelson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Arrived with my wife on Thursday 22 December and stayed until Wednesday 28th, so a full Christmas break. of 6 nights
Special Christmas booking, through Grand UK Holidays, who also own this hotel, comprised Full Board, entertainment each evening and day trips to various local resorts. Also a trip to Pantomime in Lowestoft on Boxing Day was included.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nelson. Food was excellent and rather too plentiful for my weight! We felt, however that the time between lunch and dinner (fixed start times) was insufficient - Lunch at 13:00 Dinner at 18:00. Doesn't sound close on paper but lunch often lasted until 14:30.
Room we stayed in was excellent, recently refurbished to an adequate standard, very large with a double and single bed, even though we had booked a twin. Very little noise from downstairs, even when we retired early, despite being above main bar.
The hotel is Grade 2 listed, so speed of redecoration and upgrading is very slow, due to planning restrictions, but they are trying their best.
Staff were all exceedingly helpful at all times, with waiter service very efficient, especially as approximately 90 guests were seated for each meal. Basement dining room, which doubles as the entertainment venue in evening, was only just big enough for this number of people. Breakfast in ground floor dining room was exceedingly cramped with 8 people to a small oblong table (4 each side).This necessitated diners having to move out from the table, mid meal, to let others gain access to empty places. Not really acceptable at any time and we could not see the reason, apart from easy access to the kitchen for the staff. This latter situation was not acceptable to us or many other guests.
Apart from the previous negative comments, an excellent stay which seemed to satisfy the majority of guests. I do hope that John, the Manager, reviews the dining arrangements as this was the one major failing during an otherwise wonderful Christmas holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on first floor, as lift is very slow and stairs are winding and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Nelson at Christmas and agree with all of your comments. My staff work very hard ensuring the guests receive a level of service that would be expected and this was doubly so at Christmas. With regard to the comments about breakfast, we are a little bit restricted by where we can offer this most important meal due to the requirement of frying fresh eggs for service, hence the reason for using the restaurant. I fully understand that it is not ideal and that we have limited space but I believe it is the only option without resorting to two service times or putting one coach into the smaller function suite at the end of the Hotel. As this was Christmas, and everyone was here to enjoy themselves, I decided that we would do one sitting but extend the normal service times for everyone so that you could come down at your leisure and enjoy a leisurely breakfast, without having to rush, prior to your departure on your scheduled trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

When we arrived we were told that "Late Rooms" had not sent our booking through and that there were NO rooms available. This was horrendous as there were 6 of us and 3 rooms booked! The person on the front desk was quite short with us but then said he had a couple of twin rooms and a single ? But the he found that he did infact have 3 rooms on the top floor (there is a lift). 2 of the rooms were ok, very much in need of some TLC, but our room was small and not particularly clean and a 4 foot bed (very cosy for 2 people)! Our ade double check your bookings and make sure the rooms have been updated. It wasn't cheap either £70.00 per night thankfully we only needed one night. Disappointing and definitely do not reccomend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank disappointed018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

I was sorry to read your review concerning your recent stay at The Nelson and apologise if you felt the rooms were not up to the standard that you were expecting for the price you paid. With regard to the booking you made through lastminute.com, the paperwork you provided at the Hotel was only a request for accommodation to lastminute.com and was not a confirmation; the paperwork is still in file at the Hotel, this could be the reason why we had not received the confirmation through from the website. As for providing accommodation on your arrival, it was pointed out that we were virtually full as we had a coach in and only had limited rooms available. We provided you with three double rooms as requested. If you had a complaint then this should have been brought to my attention at the time so I could have taken remedial action before you checked out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

From start to finish the staff are wonderful, cheerful, helpful and friendly. My husband and i had a wonderful time there, the food was delicious hot and very quick to arrive. The suite was comfortable and clean. I would recommend this hotel highly and can't wait to return there, well done everyone.
ellie and mike attwood, cambridge.

Room Tip: ask to see the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliemrja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Thank you for your comments which are greatly appreciated. It is nice to hear when we get it right and I have passed your comments onto all of my staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Nelson some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed for the weekend and we could not have been treated better, Well done to the Manager and his staff for really turning this hotel around. Also well done to Grand UK they have got a way to go in refurbishment but its well under way. The food we had was well above average and way ahead of the rival company at the Carlton. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and we were greeted with freindly faces all weekend, For the price we paid we got a 5 star service at a 2 star price. If the refurbishment carries on the hotel will be the best.
Again thanks for a good weekend to all the staff

Room Tip: remember this hotel has only just been taken over by grand uk but its well worth a try
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank graeme m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnRushworth01, General Manager at The Nelson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Thank you for your comments, the one thing that I appreciate is remarks from satisfied guests informing me that they have enjoyed themselves. The Hotel Group are aware of the work that is required here and this is being planned at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visited the Nelson with a sports tour group and started with low expectations primarily because I've stayed in UK seaside hotels before. They always seem to be timemachines from another era, full of OAP's where getting a late drink means having a Horlicks after 9pm.
In many ways the Nelson lives up to this stereotype but the breakfast was good, our room reasonably spacious and the whole place kept clean & tidy. The evening menu could be described as 'traditional' although there was what the menu described as an 'International dish of the day'.....it was spagetti bolognese !! However to be fair the roast chicken was fine & not expensive.
As for the bar if you like an aging crooner singing Kenny Rodgers songs to an audience of 5 OAP's, two of whom are playing scrabble then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Whilst our rooms facing the front were reasonably spacious, there are some more cramped rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxton_russian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
1.3 km away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
594 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#17 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
221 reviews
0.1 km away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
522 reviews
3.3 km away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Hotel

Address: 1 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: ₹ 3,614 - ₹ 8,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Hotel is a Grade II listed property that is situated on Marine Parade directly opposite the Sea Life Centre and Wellington Pier. The Nelson is an AA 3 Star Hotel that affords excellent views of the sea front and the promenade.Parking is available free of charge in front of the Hotel, although the car park does not belong to the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing