We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good food, good atmosphere, a good night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 22 The Square

22 The Square
Ranked #7 of 288 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 37 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Proud family run Restaurant in Northowram Halifax serving fantastic Italian & Mediterranean food for the past four years, we produce high quality fresh food with an open kitchen with some of the best chefs in Yorkshire, we also have a gluten free menu and children menu and between Tuesday and Friday we do 2 for 22, starter and main for two people for £22 before 7pm and great specials all reasonable prices.
Halifax, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, a good night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We went on a Saturday night for the first time and made to feel very welcome. Felt like we were regulars by the end of the night. Good choice of food, good wine list and excellent service. We will be going again. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy-B-Halifax-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    81
    45
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable evening, lovely food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

22 The Square offers warm hospitality, attentive and friendly staff. The food was lovely and they have a good wine list. This was our first visit but it certainly will not be our last.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good lunch fixed price menu .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

wandering round came across this small italian . £9.95 2 course lunch menu. nice clean looks small bar area and open kitchen. for starters . meat balls and i asked if i could have the spare ribs as starter as only shown as main course. no problem. then both had linguine with prawns/mushrooms/chilli. very nice . drinks .carlsberg £3.60 pint. had profiteroles for sweet extra at £5 . could have been bigger but nice . food overall was very good , good portions and all fresh made. good service . will be back to sample more.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grantisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Called in for lunch after seeing other reviews and well worth the visit, friendly greeting excellent customer service with friendly waitress who put us at ease and really nice food , we eat out a lot and this is one place we will be going back to soon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janethemidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Went on 15th February to celebrate my birthday which unfortunately falls on Valentines Day. This restaurant was recommended by a close friend as being family friendly and excellent food, and it didn't fail to impress on either count.

Unfortunately we caught the back end of the 2 for £22 deal, ends at 19:00 and the table next to us had obviously made fine use of the draught lager on sale.

Once they had departed, our experience became much nicer, service and food was great - deffo recommend and will be returning ..

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madferret69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 22 The Square also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to 22 The Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing