We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in serious need of updating...........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired and in serious need of updating...........”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Booked for two nights before travelling on by coach to Scotland with friends from the area.Then four nights upon our return before return home to the south.Our room going was cramped(to say the least)-couldn't swing a mouse,let alone a cat.As for the shower room you need to be Houdini to get in and we aren't at all big people...............Asked for a better room,rather than the broom cupboard upon our return-well,the room was bigger than the first but given twin beds(one only had three legs).Wardrobe hinges missing so work of art trying to use doors!
The hotel is looking very tired and is in serious need of an "overhaul".The communal areas are very shabby with torn carpets in stairways,gaffer tap on the carpet in the dining areas.
However on the plus side,the staff were lovely and helpful-nothing too much bother -shame about the obvious lack of interest in upgrading what could be a nice hotel.
Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59Ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    134
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
61
137
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Good location, by the station. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed half board. Food very good, cannot fault it or the service. Full english Breakfast, excellent.
Would highly recommend, feel that the negative comments are unjustified.
My husband and I are regular travelers’ both abroad and in the UK. We have stayed in 5* down to 3* and would rate this as a good 3* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazianShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

The hotel is in a convenient location and the staff are friendly. The hotel had a dated feel - threadbare carpets on the stairs and the dining room is dark.

My evening meal was Ok but i missed breakfast when my order took more than 25 minutes to cook & I had to leave.

In summary, nice staff & good location for the station but not somewhere I plan to return

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Came with a coach group of some 45 people. The check-in was fast and efficient and staff were on hand to help with the cases if needed. The hotel is a listed building and does not have a lift. This can be a problem as the stairs are not very welcoming. However the rooms are easy to find although small. The bathroom was new and had copious amounts of hot water at a good pressure. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is very restful and the wood covering the walls reminds me of a Cambridge college, as did the 'library' function room with lots of books and chandeliers. As a group, we ate in this room, well away from other business travellers. All the staff were very cheerful and attentve and the speed of service for meals was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lk2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2010

This hotel has the perfect location - next to the train station and only a short walk to the town centre - and that's where the positives end.

The hotel is dark and it felt it was stuck in 70s in terms on how it was decorated in the rooms. Sure, you could say that the rooms were "cosy" but when I ask for a double room I expect just that, it felt like a single.

breakfast was a strange experience, virtually empty dining room bar a man that just burped non-stopped - kind of put me off my food.

I had a friend who stayed in the White Swan - Same price, better experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.4 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.3 km away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
336 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
367 reviews
4.3 km away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
5.2 km away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Property: The Imperial Crown Hotel
Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,115 - ₹ 9,016
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing