We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 59
US$ 57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 59
US$ 56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 80
US$ 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The New Hobbit(Sowerby Bridge)
    US$ 95
    US$ 92
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (453)
    Filter reviews
    453 results
    Traveller rating
    152
    174
    69
    34
    24
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    152
    174
    69
    34
    24
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsno lifttrain stationlocation is excellentprawn cocktailbit datedpiece hallcar parktown centreflights of stairssunday lunchbar and restaurantfree parkingbreakfast was excellentan upgradean updatebiscuitslovely hotel
    Filter
    Updating list...
    426 - 431 of 453 reviews
    Reviewed 7 June 2010

    Good location, by the station. Staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed half board. Food very good, cannot fault it or the service. Full english Breakfast, excellent.
    Would highly recommend, feel that the negative comments are unjustified.
    My husband and I are regular travelers’ both abroad and in the UK. We have stayed in 5* down to 3* and would rate this as a good 3* hotel.

    • Stayed: June 2010
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mazianShropshire
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 May 2010

    The hotel is in a convenient location and the staff are friendly. The hotel had a dated feel - threadbare carpets on the stairs and the dining room is dark.

    My evening meal was Ok but i missed breakfast when my order took more than 25 minutes to cook & I had to leave.

    In summary, nice staff & good location for the station but not somewhere I plan to return

    • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank welshtravel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 April 2010

    Came with a coach group of some 45 people. The check-in was fast and efficient and staff were on hand to help with the cases if needed. The hotel is a listed building and does not have a lift. This can be a problem as the stairs are not very welcoming. However the rooms are easy to find although small. The bathroom was new and had copious amounts of hot water at a good pressure. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is very restful and the wood covering the walls reminds me of a Cambridge college, as did the 'library' function room with lots of books and chandeliers. As a group, we ate in this room, well away from other business travellers. All the staff were very cheerful and attentve and the speed of service for meals was excellent.

    • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lk2010a
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 January 2010

    This hotel has the perfect location - next to the train station and only a short walk to the town centre - and that's where the positives end.

    The hotel is dark and it felt it was stuck in 70s in terms on how it was decorated in the rooms. Sure, you could say that the rooms were "cosy" but when I ask for a double room I expect just that, it felt like a single.

    breakfast was a strange experience, virtually empty dining room bar a man that just burped non-stopped - kind of put me off my food.

    I had a friend who stayed in the White Swan - Same price, better experience.

    • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank hamers01
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 January 2010

    The reception is a wood panelled room with a warm welcome from the receptionist. It sets a good first impression. Free hotel parking is a 1 minute walk away (which you will need to revisit to put the note in your car window to keep the clampers away), and was never full whilst I stayed. The strength of this hotel lies in the staff who were consistently attentive and very pleasant throughout my stay. The rooms and venue, without doubt, are in need of some serious modernisation with the carpet throughout reminincent of that which was in your grandparents house. The mahogany-veneer chipboard furniture in the room is from a slightly more recent era, as is the grey bathroom suite with mixer bath/shower tap - which thankfully does provide plenty of hot water to the shower head. The bed was comfortable. If you need to iron any creased clothing, be entertained with the 'there is an ironing board somewhere on every floor' game or cheat and collect the first one you see on any floor, as I guess everyone else does. When you need it, it seems a board is as rare as chickens teeth. Why oh why we are supplied a trouser press instead of an iron and board escapes me. The breakfast is hearty. The 3 course fixed-price dinner menu was no frills and I'd recommend you go for the bar menu instead. That way you can also watch the tv in the bar instead of sitting in the restaurant listening to the very loud music everytime the kitchen door opens. So, the hotel needs to spend some serious funds but in the meantime the staff should make your stay more than bearable.

    • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Wessex_Moonraker
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews