We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and memorable!”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulandel...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning and memorable!”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from an Easter holiday at Brekka Lodge self catering house in Shetland. The accommodation was of an excellent standard. We were struck by the attention to detail. On arrival Sheila (owner) had left us a wonderful welcome tray of local produce and some home baking. This was much appreciated. There was also a lovely display of daffodils on the window ledge. The house is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. The furnishings are of a high quality. Our boys loved the selection of DVDs on offer after a full day of sight seeing.

The location of the lodge is second to none. Out of every window (including the bathroom velux) there are stunning views. The natural beauty around the house is truly breathtaking. Our children (9 and 6 years) both enjoyed the space outside and pottering on the beach - claiming it belonged to them for the week! A particular highlight for us was seeing a lamb being born in the field next to the house. The farmers who were present were very friendly and we enjoyed several chats with them over the course of our time there.

This was a first visit for us to Shetland. There were delays with flights both ways. However, this could not have impinged on our visit as we had the most amazing time. We travelled up to Unst and down to Sumburgh, enjoying all that the Island had to offer. Home baking was plentiful, even enjoyed a beautiful slice of cake at Sumburgh lighthouse with panoramic views. All being well, we will be back to this Island and we will be seeking out accommodation at Brekka lodge first and foremost.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet your family and have you choose Brekka Lodge for your first visit to Shetland. I am pleased that the boys enjoyed the beach and open surroundings. The lambs are coming on well. I look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotless in terms of cleanliness and really well appointed
Liked least: Leaving....
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you for your generous and comprehensive review. We are both very touched and humbled by your kind words. We love what we do and enjoy meeting lots of new people. It was a delight to meet you and your family. A warm welcome await in the future should you make that return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aweighand...
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Haven of Tranquility”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the good fortune of an early arrival at the property after the owners contacted us to advise us that the property had not been let the previous week, and that we could have the property as soon as we arrived.
We were met upon our arrival by Sheila, and given a briefing on what was where and how to override the central heating timer if required. All in all a very pleasant experience and a warm welcome. The "Welcome Pack" was most welcome and of excellent quality. The cake was divine!
The lodge is tastefully furnished to a high standard, and there is a very well equipped kitchen, to satisfy the needs of any cook. The living room is lovely and bright with two large windows, one east facing, the other north. The views over Bressay Sound are lovely with the Isle of Bressay just across the water.
The bed in the Master Bedroom is very comfortable, and I fear without an alarm clock I could only ponder what time we may have slept until.
If you like peace and quiet with beautiful surroundings then Brekka Lodge fits that desire perfectly.
It is worth having a wander to the beach and en-route have a look at Fladdabister Gorge, and the remains of the Lime Kilns, in fact the circular walk of Fladdabister is well worth doing.
We love the place, and are looking forward to our return next year. The location is really good for getting to Lerwick, Scalloway and Is only 17 miles from Sumburgh Airport

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kindness of the owners, who loaned us a tripod after we had left ours at home
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. It was really lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location and excellent accommodation!”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brekka Lodge offers first class accommodation in a stunning location with sea views. The lounge is comfortably furnished and offers beautiful views out to sea. A TV and DVD player are provided, as well as a selection of books about Shetland. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need when self-catering and included a welcome pack of milk,butter, tea,coffee, oatcakes and chocolate brownies. Upstairs there are 2 large bedrooms and a bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle. Everything is very well maintained and immaculately clean. From the garden behind the lodge it is a short walk down to a small beach.

Brekka Lodge is an excellent base for exploring Shetland and is only a few minutes from the main road and is only a 10 minute drive from Lerwick. The owner's have thought of everything to ensure their guests have an enjoyable stay and I had such a good time that I have booked a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words and for the repeat business. We are delighted to be welcoming you back to Brekka Lodge this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twitcher2...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Base for birding Shetland”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brekka Lodge in Fladdabister was an excellent choice for our stay on Mainland Shetland, The lodge itself is decorated to a high standard and the doors stairs and floor made of pale american oak.. The kitchen is fitted Bosch appliances and has every thing you need for self-catering. It is well designed as all windows look over the sea. The bathroom and shower are also to a very high standard. The heating system and insulation mean that the lodge is warm and cosy all the time. This place would make a superb base for a summer stay on Shetland as well as an excellent base for birdering/wildlife watching at any time of the year. It is only 9 miles from Lerwick. Sheila lives next door and was very helpful in any needs or requirements we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
It was lovely having you and your birder friends to stay. Hopefully you will return in the future. Very much enjoyed reading the blog of your stay too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing