We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay - hope to return”
other travellers have booked this property
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge. Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Lovely 2 bedroomed lodge with unrestricted sea views.   Free wifi.
A warm welcome awaits you at Brekka Lodge.
Entrance hallway leading to kitchen.  Washing machine and oil central heating boiler in cupboard.
Dining kitchen with double oven, gas hob, fridge, freezer and dishwasher.  Leading to lounge.
Dining kitchen leading to lounge.
Complimentary welcome pack of products provided for guests staying 4 nights or more.
Lounge with dual aspect sea views, TV with integrated DVD.
Lounge with oak, open tread staircase leading to bedrooms and bathroom.
Unrestricted sea views over lawned garden from the lounge window.
South Bedroom - king sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Large king sized bedroom with wardrobe, chest of drawers and dressing table. Room size 5.4 x 3.6m.
Bathroom with toilet, sink, corner bath and large separate shower. With sea views.
North bedroom, pictured configured as super king.  Room size 5.4m x 3.0m.
North bedroom, pictured configured as twin, with the option of another full sized single. Sea views.
View from private parking.  Guests have use of large lawned garden during their stay.
Private picnic area outside Brekka Lodge with unrestricted sea views.  Beach only 2 minute walk.
Steps and bridge to lime kilns and beach at the bottom of the garden.
Lovely, peaceful beach and lime kiln ruins below Brekka Lodge.  Just a two minute walk away.
Northern Lights from above Brekka Lodge.
Spring view from Brekka Lodge.
Wintery view from Brekka Lodge.
Seals are regular visitors to the beach.
Killer whales have become regular visitors to the shores of Shetland. Seen from Brekka Lodge lounge.
Inside Mousa Broch.  Ferry jetty to this Islands is only 5 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Scalloway Castle.  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
Shetland Museum and Archives (incorporated Hays Dock Restaurant).  Only 8 miles from Brekka Lodge.
St Ninians Isle and lovely tombolo beach.  Under 10 miles from Brekka Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lerwick, Mainland, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cannicUk
UK
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - hope to return”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We treated ourselves to a fortnight here - and what a great trip we had. We felt welcomed from the first emails from Sheila, and arrived to find both owners just as friendly 'in the flesh' and a lovely pack of local food treats waiting for us.
The accommodation is furnished with good quality and well maintained fittings and kept spotlessly clean. The owners have tried to anticipate every need and it was the best kitted out rental we have ever had - and we have had a lot!
There is a short walk down to a sheltered wee bay where we twice saw an otter and we saw seals every time. We lost hours watching the antics of the lambs in the adjoining field! Lots of info on things to do has been provided. We easily filled our fortnight and would love to return to see still more of the islands. The rental is excellently placed for access south and north - and only 15 mins from Lerwick, where there are plenty of places to eat out, takeaways and a large Tesco and also a Co-op for the self catering supplies.
We were initially disappointed to arrive and find that it is not clear from the advertising photos that it is behind and over the garage (separate to the owners house), but we were quickly won over by the fantastic facilities and were never bothered by any noise from the garage being used while we were there.
We cannot think of any problems except perhaps needing blackout blinds behind the bedroom curtains for those longer days in summer. We really want to return here and cannot praise it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, seeing otters in the bay, excellent quality of fittings/furniture
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
We hope to have you back at Brekka Lodge in the future. Thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia R
Suffolk
1 review
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed at Brekka for 4 nights. We had a very warm welcome from Sheila when we arrived and were also greeted with a welcome pack which was quickly enjoyed. Sheila had sent on ahead directions which were very clear and so it was easy to find. The property is ideally located, close to Lerwick but just remote enough for complete privacy. The house is beautiful, immaculate, warm, very well equipped (there really is everything you can possibly need in a self catering) and is in a beautiful setting with wild rabbits and birds always within sight. The living room afforded views of wonderful sunsets and sunrises. The little beach is an easy walk down the hill where we saw seals (their heads anyway) on a couple of occasions. It was a little sad to leave after so short a stay but when we return to Shetland, it will certainly be a return to Brekka also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property in equally beautiful location.
Liked least: Cant fault it in anyway, except having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillausti...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top class house, stunning location!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in February 2012

My friend was visiting from New Zealand and wanted to see the Northern Lights...... So I figured we should go as far north as possible and we were not disappointed :-)
We saw the northern lights and also loads of birds and animals- and that was just from Brekka Lodge! Within a short drive there are nature reserves, archaeological sites and the bustle of Lerwik.
It was very stormy when we stayed but we were warm and cosy in the evenings with everything we could possibly wish for in the house. The welcome pack of Shetland produce was much appreciated.
If you want to get away from it all I couldn't recommend Brekka Lodge highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had such a brilliant holiday at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennie W
Abergavenny
1 review
“A fantastic place to relax and an excellent base to see the Island.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Brekka Lodge provided us with every comfort we could have wished for. The location was ideal for touring but also for walking along the coast line. It was such a luxury having the beach only a couple of hundred yards from the lodge and we were able to see an otter swimming in the bay and Arctic terns and Oystercatchers guarding their nests.
The lodge itself is immaculately presented and welcoming and contained everything you could ask for. In particular, the bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable with king/queen sized beds.
There is easy access into Lerwick or surrounding area if you wanted to eat out or for travelling to see the rest of the island.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: Cant think of anything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Brekka Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah R
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing lodge, amazing location!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Brekka Lodge is quite simply THE best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in! A stunning location with what seems like it's very own little beach complete with seals keeping their eyes on you! Wildlife, tranquility and wilderness! If you like peace and quiet you'll love it here! The lodge itself is spacious, light, warm, comfortable, modern, immaculately clean and welcoming. The kitchen in particular is so well equipped with EVERYTHING you will need for your stay and more! The gorgeous bathroom has a luxurious spa feel about it and the most amazing bath! The all important beds are extremely comfortable and hand in hand with bracing Shetland fresh air, combine for some of the best nights sleep I've ever had! Nothing is too much trouble for Sheila and her husband and their attention to detail is what really makes the difference! I can't speak highly enough of Brekka Lodge and the fact that my 12 and 10 year old daughters have never been so sad to leave anywhere, speaks volumes! Can't wait to go back!! 5* as far as we are concerned!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to choose one thing - all fantastic!
Liked least: We didn't see The Northern Lights!! :(
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you at Brekka Lodge again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing