We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit tired and a bit over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bit tired and a bit over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stopped here for 1 night before a business meeting. Faciities for the meeting and confrences are very good.
Rooms are tired and in need of some up dating and decoration. TV's didnt always work or was in a forgien langague!!
The food was quite nice and very friendly staff, however, the breakfast was terrible, expensive at £14.50 for egg bacon beans etc and a cup of tea, No continental offering, just a small limited fry up. i really would suggest that you drive to Booths cafe and have a full English at well over half the price....tea included. All in all, very tired place and over priced you feel that they are taking the p*ss of of people who are on business expenses!!

Room Tip: Have doulbe as the TV's work in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciderman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Mark C.Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
On a positive note, thank you for your feedback concerning our conference facilities, food and our friendly staff.

I am a little surprised with regard to your breakfast comments as we generally pride ourselves in providing an extensive range of both hot and cold breakfast items and, if you pre-book breakfast, our full English is £12.00.

I will review this along with your remarks about the TV and bedroom.

Kind regards

Mark C. Bowers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    280
    139
    42
    31
See reviews for
161
292
26
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Have stayed here a few times on business, most recently this month. I have always found the staff friendly and never had a problem with my stay. As mentioned in other reviews the mobile signal can be patchy; there are some rooms where the only way I can get signal are by standing by the window and in others the signal is fine (I am on Vodafone). I have never had a signal issue with the Wireless internet although once the system was down but when I called reception they said that it would be back up in 5 minutes, which it was.

One new experience for me last week was the Spa as I had not had time to use before. The gym was very well equipped with what looked like fairly new equipment and the pool is as good as it looks in the pictures (I had wondered if it was just great photography!)

One thing I did notice when I checked out was a sign that said they would charge extra if you settled the bill with certain types of credit card. I have seen this on websites when you pay for flights etc but don’t recall ever seeing it before in a hotel. Not sure if this is new but I don’t recall seeing it before.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thanks for your comments in relation to the friendliness of the staff and I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the Spa. As mentioned to other Reviewers the mobile ’phone signal is something that we do not have any control over but I will review your comments with the Group’s I.T. team.
With regard to the Notice you mention – this is to inform guests that if they pay with an Amex or Diners’ card, then a 1.5% charge will be levied because we need to cover our transaction fees that are higher with these cards than any others.

Kind regards

Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

came to restaurant for a birthday meal, eclectic average food, service a bit hit and miss although they did have a large function on. Just a bit too average and anonomous

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeckyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Quite naturally I was disappointed to read your comments, and it is clear that we have failed to meet your expectations on a number of levels, for which I apologise. The fact that there was a large function at the hotel should not impact on the service and standards of the Magnolia Restaurant and I will review with the team why we did not offer the personal touches that make all the difference.

Kind Regards

Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The rooms were excellent, the food was superb and the staff are simply amazing. I will be staying here for any trips i have in this region.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellyokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Mark C. Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent feedback, especially about your room, food and the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit - why not sign up to our Affinity Loyalty Programme!

Kind Regards

Mark C. Bowers - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Have stayed in Cottons twice. Once for 4 weeks and last week for a night and both the trips were really memorable. For the first trip, I was given a very small room on the third floor which was really depressing considering that I had to stay for a month. However, on my request they changed it to an amazingly big room on the second floor which had nice bed and a separate work area. The TV is very outdated though and offers only basic channels and lacks clarity. Wifi signal was on my laptop but was poor on my mobile. Phone coverage for vodafone is good (don't know about others). The best part was the outdoor whirlpool. It was amazing to just relax in hot water enjoying the fresh weather. So relaxing after a stressful day.

Food at restaurant is good. I liked the Cottons bar than the Magnolia restaurant.

Definitely would stay here whenever I go to knutsford.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on second floor especially from 240 to 248. They are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShireHotels, Mark C.Bowers - General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Great to read that my team were able to respond promptly to your request to change rooms and that you enjoyed the Magnolia Restaurant, food, Cotton Club Bar and hot tub. I will investigate your claims regarding the TV in your room and have the channels checked.

Look forwarding to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark C. Bowers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knutsford
3.7 km away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
14.6 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
25.7 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
12.1 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
1.8 km away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Property: Cottons Hotel & Spa
Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,278 - ₹ 12,736
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Cottons Hotel and Spa has unique character and luxurious yet comfortable surroundings, this delightful hotel brings contemporary style into the heart of Cheshire. Set just outside the picturesque village of Knutsford, located just off the M6 and M56 and just 8 miles from Manchester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford
Cottons Hotel & Spa Knutsford, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing