We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for a non-9-to-5er”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great choice for a non-9-to-5er”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just left this hotel after a week of late-shift contract work in the area. Made a really nice change to be able to have a couple of pints and a good chat after work as by the by the time I finished, everywhere else was shut. The hotel itself was nice enough but the friendly people working there and the all-night bar made it for me - if only every hotel had one!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    172
    143
    65
    69
See reviews for
110
158
58
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Not as bad as the other over-dramatic reviews would lead you to believe but the hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. The decor is mix-and-match with no thread. The walls, ceilings and doors are chipped, cracked and disheveled, and the bathroom has seen better days.
The rooms were clean though and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The hotel is nestled at the end of a cul-de-sac and our room overlooked the train track with only a few steam trains going by which was actually quite pleasant, nothing to disturb you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Loughborough hotels

Amlwch, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Have stayed on several occasions and have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful, breakfast is always nice, rooms clean and tidy - always a nice quiet nights sleep - a little gem and I will return

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meltch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for one night for my birthday as we were going on the steam railway. This hotel was ideally located. All the staff made my birthday special so a very big thank you to you all. Excellent breakfast and the room we had was brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar5kmozart
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed here with my Mum as we were going to a local family wedding. When we arrived I saw a railway line right next to the car park and thought 'Oh no!' but in fact it's part of a local attraction - a steam railway. The only train I saw was a steam train and they are infrequent and don't run beyond early evening so no worries. The staff are friendly and switched on. Check-in in was a breeze. It's an old-style hotel with stairs and corridors to negotiate but the rooms are a good size and clean. They may not be 4 star but there's a TV, decent sized ensuite, tea making facilities and wi-fi throughout. The bar is big with leather sofas and a feature fireplace. It's welcoming and has a nice ambience. Breakfast is traditional full English and buffet bar for cereals and juices. I was really impressed - I've paid a lot more for a lot less. I will be going back to have a ride on the train and explore the area

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar5kmozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loughborough hotels
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
766 reviews
3.9 km away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
563 reviews
1.3 km away
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
Ramada Loughborough Hotel
#12 of 12 in Loughborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
673 reviews
3.5 km away
The Hunting Lodge
The Hunting Lodge
#8 of 12 in Loughborough
146 reviews
2.9 km away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#10 of 12 in Loughborough
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Cedar Road, Loughborough LE11 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Loughborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,153 - ₹ 5,227
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cedars Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedars Hotel And Restaurant
Cedars Hotel Loughborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing