We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home from home in a well-located part of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Nuthatch

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky281
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home in a well-located part of the country for days out with kids!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The owner Susie who was charming, kind and helpful met us at the property when we arrived and again as we left. The property decor and furnishings throughout were lovely, it was well equipped, spotlessly clean in a nice quiet area just 10 mins walk from Lymington harbour. The garden was beautiful with plenty of seating/ loungers and the kids loved the rope swing on the tree. For food we had bbq most evenings and visited local restaurants the Ship Inn and the Monkey House restaurants which were great. There is a great Waitrose for food shopping just a short drive away and the shopping street in Lymington was good for clothes, books, etc. We visited the New Forest with the free grazing ponies, Lymington Open Air Sea Baths with the massive inflatable assault courses, Durdle Dor beach with its stunning scenery, Monkey World, Beaulieu Car Museum with its 'Top Gear' exhibition, got the ferry to the Isle of Wight and even had a trip to Bournemouth with its huge sandy beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Could improve by adding some board games to the large book collection
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us! Delighted you enjoyed being at home in the Nuthatch and also the area so much - it really is great for the whole family I agree .... and also that you had the weather needed to make the most of the garden for bbq's as it's been quite a changeable summer. Lovely to meet you both and your boys. All the best, Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanami9
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful, peaceful, spacious cottage!”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I brought my retired parents down to New Forest for a little break and we were all very happy with the accommodation. The hosts were super-friendly, the cottage was everything that we wanted, and we had a very good and relaxing time, just as we wanted!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to review your stay with us! It was lovely to meet you all and to be part of your on-going journey of exploring the English countryside. Be lovely to see you all again if you come our way. Hope you enjoyed Somerset too! All the very best, Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabine B
Bochum, Germany
1 review
“Excellent location, looking forward to coming back!”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked the nuthatch because we had some work to do in Fawley. Basically, it was a working period, but coming home to the nuthatch in the evening definitely added a touch of holiday feeling to our stay! The house is perfect, very cosy and very English – well, what we Germans think is English: beautifully furnished and decorated. We enjoyed the peace and quiet in the charming garden and loved the beautiful scenery. Next time we have some work to do, let’s hope we’ll return to the nuthatch! The owner is very kind and helpful, so thanks and Auf Wiedersehen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nice atmosphere
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback relating to your stay with us! So glad we could provide a little bit of luxury with a comfortable base for you during those hard working days!! It was a pleasure to have you both stay and we would be delighted if you should like to return in the future. All the best and yes 'Auf Wedersehen'!! Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clared030...
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing, charming, we will be back.”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 3 nights at Susie's Nuthatch in Lymington. When we first arrived we were a little disappointed as from the pictures we'd imagined a more rural cottage, not one in a side street. However as soon as we entered it was magical. Susie was so welcoming, the bungalow is beautifully decorated and furnished. It is so warm, the beds are fantastically comfortable, and after 3 nights we felt we'd had a truly relaxing break of a far longer period. It is a great base for the New Forest, Lymington itself is charming, we visited Moors Valley Country Park (great with kids), and also the beach at Highcliffe (yet again fab for kids). Do go for lunch at the Monkey House at the end of the road, food is really good. Thanks for everything Susie, we would very much like to come again. Clare

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and warmth, beds and shower too
Liked least: Wasn't really anything.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Nuthatch. It was thanks enough to see you both and the children looking so relaxed and happy and a pleasure have you stay. Also good and helpful to know how enjoyable it was just up the road at the local pub which is only a ten minute walk away, and how much you were able to pack into those three days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: open log fire
Liked least: shortage of storage in the small bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you all and so pleased you enjoyed your time in Lymington. All the best, Susie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing