We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Lunch”

The Elderflower Lymington
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Quintessentially British, with a sprinkling of French. The Elderflower is the new restaurant for food lovers on a cobbled Quay Street in the heart of Lymington, the beautiful Georgian town sited between the New Forest district of Hampshire and the West Solent. Head Chef Patron Andrew Du Bourg (formerly Head Chef at 5* Chewton Glen hotel and Michelin starred Club Gascon, London) will prepare modern British food with a sprinkling of French using locally sourced produce from land and sea.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was my birthday so it had to be somewhere special for lunch - and wow, was it special! This was Michelin star standard food produced with a twist that just gave that extra interest. Flavours and textures were just right with great presentation. Wines were excellent.

Staff were friendly and attentive. It really was the perfect lunch.

If you haven't tried it yet - you should!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank bailli2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Always fantastic food, excellent wine list and first class service.
And the desserts are simply amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Wow, superb food, excellent atmosphere, charming and capable waiters. Highly recommended. Our meal including service cocktails, wine and 3 courses was £160

1  Thank herefordian163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We ate hear on two consecutive nights spending almost £240 in total.

Yet on the second night, they added a £1 supplement to our bill, to cover the cost of HALF a slice of bread (not the bread roll that I asked for) to accompany the cheeseboard that I ordered!

I politely gave them the chance to reconsider.

However they declined, so I opted to withhold the discretionary service charge.

Unfortunately, I won’t be returning for a third visit.

1  Thank RedRover53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adb0314, Owner at The Elderflower Lymington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear RedRover53

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Elderflower.

Our cheese boards are served with crackers, you asked if you could have bread. You were asked if this was instead of the crackers, to which you replied that you wanted both. At that point you were informed there would be an additional charge on the bill. There was no issue raised. The sliced bread is homemade, as are the rolls, from exactly the same recipe. It was a large slice from a loaf baked freshly that day, not half as you described. We also provided you with our homemade butter. Both of these products are made at a cost to us. The majority of bread and butter we serve is complimentary at the start of the meal so, yes, we do ask a small supplement for any additional served. As I am sure you are well aware the cost of ingredients in general are high and keep rising, we have consequently had to adjust our cost.

I am really sorry if this small charge tarnished your experience at the Elderflower.

Kind regards,

Marjolaine Du Bourg
Restaurant Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Lymington is lucky to have this excellent restaurant - it's just the place to go for a special occasion, or just a good meal out a deux.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OldSolent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Elderflower Lymington also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Elderflower Lymington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing