We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chris R
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We arrived to find the accomodation perfectly presented and wonderfully clean. There was a wide variety of breakfast products all of which were lovely and fresh and kept topped up throughout our stay. We enjoyed our time here very much and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thanks Vanessa.
We had a great time. Breakfast was fab. Accommodation was super, clean and lots of little touches that make a huge difference.
We would highly recommend to anyone.
I suspect we will be back.
Thanks again Vanessa.
Rob & Mandy

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie G
1 review
“Lovely b&b, great breakfast & friendly host!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I stayed here with our baby in July. We received a friendly welcome from Vanessa, complete with tea and homemade biscuits! The accommodation was clean and tidy, the small kitchenette had everything we needed (fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster) and a gorgeous cooked or continental breakfast was bought over each morning at an agreed time by Vanessa. She also provided a travel cot for our baby so we didn't need to bring one. The accommodation is situated next to the owners house but it was still quiet and private. You can walk from the accommodation to tracks within the forest and local towns e.g. Lymington are a short drive away. We had a great time at Defoe House and would definitely recommend this B&B to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pemberton...
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend get away”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Vanessa for your hospitality. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and it was great having the extra touches in the small kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and the location of the property was a "real get away from it all". For people who lead very busy lives it was lovely to just RELAX. Thanks also to the lovely Alfie dog. Our daughter adored him and has declared meeting him the highlight of her weekend!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonM...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Travelled with my wife and 1 yr old son.
Friendly and welcoming owners, who did as much as they could to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Accommodation was clean and well presented. Breakfasts were fantastic!
Fantastic base to explore the New Forest!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing