We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and friendly bolthole”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Adam M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and friendly bolthole”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned from a short break at Defoe House with our nine month old baby. This was our first UK trip with our son. The studio was perfect. It is carpeted so our son could run riot and small enough to allow us to keep an eye on him! Vanessa was great and couldn't do enough for us and it was a huge help to have a highchair and cot there.

Defoe House is in a great spot. There are amazing walks on its door step and we felt spoilt having them to ourselves. If you're more adventurous than us the coast is close by as are all the other attractions of the New Forest.

The cooked breakfast was lovely and set us up each day. There were also some great touches like the tasty Victoria Sponge that welcomed us! We also appreciated the TV and the wifi for the World Cup!

All in a great place in a great location and we were very well looked after.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed a few days with us and great to hear that your little one enjoyed himself too. Vanessa .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Private and idyllic in the heart of the New Forest”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for two nights and wished it was much longer. Vanessa was lovely and very welcoming. The room was great, comfy bed, plenty of space, a nice bathroom and little kitchenette. We couldn't fault it. We are definitely going back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Really glad that you had a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you both again. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
597Folly
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect tranquil retreat”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights, the last night offered for free. Accommodation is spacious, light, well furnished and decorated and spotlessly clean. There are dvd,s and books for adults and toys and games for children. We were treated to Vanessas home made cakes and even strawberries turned up one morning! Breakfasts are very good which again includes some of Vanessas home made treats. It,s the little personal touches that make this bed and breakfast different, like fresh milk in the fridge, a little flower on the windowsill. Vanessa and her husband do everything to make sure you enjoy your stay, offering advice where to visit and the local pubs for meals. The area is lovely and we visited many pleasant places around, including the lovely Exbury Gardens.
Just book this and look forward to it, you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The tranquillity and location and welcoming of the owners.
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Delighted that you both had a great stay and enjoyed all that's on to offer around here. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pookie82
Berkshire
1 review
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 year old son, and it was absolutely perfect for us. The accommodation is spacious and clean, with enough space for our son to play and let off steam. He loved playing with the train set. The breakfast was delicious, as were the cakes that Vanessa left for us. We had a lovely time, and will definitely be returning if we visit the area again in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review and great to hear that the three of you enjoyed your stay with us. Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elsie505
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect balance”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We usually prefer the independance of self catering but Defoe House offers the unusual balance of a delicious breakfast served in the privacy of your own self contained accomodation. We spent a wonderful birthday weekend here in March, we arrived to a scumptious 'towering' birthday home-made cake which we feasted on all weekend! Vanessa could not have been more helpful in making our weekend so memorable. Defoe House is a great find, well located for exploring this part of the New Forest and offers a unique charm which is hard to beat : fresh flowers, home-made bread, books to browse, dvd movies, fresh coffee on arrival and chocolate cake made by Vanessa and her girls..what's not to like? Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: self contained accomodation with breakfast served
Liked least: all good
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2014
Thank you and really pleased that you had a lovely birthday weekend with us. From Vanessa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing