We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nothing was to much trouble”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Amy B
King's Lynn, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“nothing was to much trouble”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

we decided to try B&B rather than our usual hotel stay whilst visiting family this year and we were NOT disappointed!!! Vanessa and her family were so welcoming to myself, my wife and our young 3yr old son. Nothing was to much trouble and vanessa kindly made up our little boys bed as we were delayed. The accommodation was superb as to the breakfast made to order. A lovely family run B&B which caters for guests with a family to !!!!! Very impressed we will be staying again next time we come to stay highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the over all friendliness, welcome we received
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieW5
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality and attention to detail”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at Defoe House with our young son. The welcome was outstanding and Vanessa and her children were absolutely charming (as was Alfie the dog whom our son was very partial to). The accommodation is adjacent to the main house and a good size, open plan lounge and bedroom, with separate kitchenette (microwave but no cooking facilities) and good sized bathroom. It is light and airy and decorated with real flowers and there was banana bread in the kitchen which was a lovely touch. The fridge was also stocked with a yoghurts, milk, orange juice and the makings of a sandwich for our son which we really appreciated. Home made breakfast to order was delicious and substantial with good coffee. A lot of thought has gone into this accomodation and it richly deserves the outstanding reviews. Had we just been on a couples weekend this would have been perfect, however with a toddler there is a challenge in that there is no bedroom door as such and once he went to bed, we had to be very quiet. So i would say that, even though our son was made extremely welcome and loved every minute, Defoe House may be more suited to couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The welcome, the hosts and the breakfast
Liked least: Toilet and bathroom system was a bit noisy
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London198...
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“the most hospitable place in the world”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Vanessa and her family (including Alfie the dog!offered us such a warm welcome in such a lovely place. The room/block was large and well appointed with a handy little kitchen and lovely fresh decoration. The breakfast was amazing and the extra little touches like banana loaf and use of the wooden train set really made this place. Highly recommended, thank you Vanessa, we hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely host!
Liked least: We had to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being detached from main house, like a self catering place
Liked least: No real negatives, except maybe distance from shops etc, but that's what you give up for a countryside holiday.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly with lots of extras
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing