We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended!”
other travellers have booked this property
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Your independent accommodation (annex), with main house to the left.
Main living area
Your kitchenette, which is stocked up with your breakfasts. Will be topped up during your stay.
Outside seating area.
private bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
view of Defoe House with independent annex to the left.
Lymington river nearby.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Lymington cobbled street.
Lymington river, where you can catch ferry to Isle of Wight.
Close to Exbury gardens, famous for its spring and autumn colour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lymington, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Oliver153
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely B&B. Warm hospitality and great breakfasts. Idyllic location for exploring the New Forest. We loved this place! From the eggs from the chickens in the garden, to the cows wandering around the village - this place is a gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venom2006
Perth, Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best B&B I've stayed in for a long time!”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This comes down to several points. Firstly and most importantly, it's separated from the owners house via their converted garage I don't know about you but staying in the house always feels like you have to move quietly around grandma & grandpa's house and not disturb them as they watch their TV or do their household chores. So having the room away from the house is brilliant for privacy in all respects making us feel extremely comfortable and relaxed. Secondly Vanessa is a wonderful host in every aspect, from having a home made cake (lemon drizzle sponge I believe) on arrival and making welcome tea too. Vanessa was always happy and helpful in every way and gave us extremely helpful advise and directions to the cycle paths in the New Forrest, a community fair in Lyndhurst, the lovely town of Beaulieu (chocolate!) and the Saturday market of Lymington and the Quay. But most of all the recommendation of having a lovely meal at the Turfcutter Arms in East Boldre for my Birthday dinner. Not only does Vanessa have a great helpful and local knowledge and bake delicious cakes, she also makes the most delicious breakfast from localy sourced produce of bacon, eggs (anyway you like), sausages, mushrooms, tomato and locally made bread/toast with butter/strawberry jam/marmalade all washed down with orange juice and fresh brewed coffee. Cereals were also supplied in the room with milk, tea and coffee but there was no way I would fit these in as well.
The room had a great layout with a double bed with feather down quilt & pillows, heating, wardrobe, sofa bed, table & chairs, TV/DVD ( DVD's supplied or bring your favourites along), decent bath/shower with plenty of hot water (bath was just the thing after cycling) and a kitchenette with plates, glasses, mugs & utensils supplied with a fridge and microwave only. Everything you could possibly need to get you started on exploring the best, tranquil side of Hampshire.
Again I cant stress how comfortable we felt having privacy with the accommodation set aside from the main house and how lovely and helpful Vanessa was as our hostess. So if you're looking for the most relaxing weekend getaway in Hampshire, Defoe House is the only B&B to look for bar none!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Breakfast!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel1066...
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful location and such hospitality”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My family and I visited Norleywood for the Bank Holiday. Vanessa and her family gave us such attention, the accommodation was just right for our needs. Starting with Vanessa's full English was so tasty as were the scones and cake. The cottage was clean, comfortable and flexible for my two sons. Thank you, Vanessa, we will visit again when we get the opportunity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and flexibility of the accommodation
Liked least: It was just right for us
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Noosa, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful nights sleep, delicious breakfast, enjoyable New Forest walks”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I enjoyed five nights in Norley Wood staying in the little flat beside Defoe House. We were attending a conference in Brockenhurst. It was an easy drive from Norley Wood to Brochenhurst, and also Lymington. We enjoyed visiting the local pubs, walking in the forest and Vanessa's hospitality. She delivered a very large breakfast at the time that suited us, helped with our laundry and more. The feather pillows were a luxury we enjoyed, and the hot baths.
The Wifi was great, but our mobile phone did not work in that part of the forest.
Jennifer Abbot, Noosa, Queensland, Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and bath
Liked least: No mobile phone access in that part of the forest
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thank you for your review,it was lovely meeting you all last weekend too!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing