We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (925)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
354
310
137
70
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
354
310
137
70
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craft room games room arts and crafts swimming pool family hotel children's entertainment family entertainment evening entertainment self service plenty of choice refurbished room family break sea view great weekend food was lovely sea front friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018

First of all the Hotel is in an excellent location food is buffet style but very good except for desserts which are rather poor get very dry as cut up too early and kept in a cold fridge. The entertainment for children is excellent. Very very good entertainers. There are a couple of exceptions. No shampoo and a small round tablet of soap with no lather. The toilet in our room was not working properly did not flush very well. We paid £160 a night and for there to be no shampoo in the room is not acceptable. You can if required purchase shampoo from reception.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank lindadavidson215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Ives_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the St Ives Hotel.
It is great to read that you enjoyed our entertainer's.
I hope that you will consider us again if you visit St Annes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Arrived to the hotel, reception was clean/ tidy and inviting, unfortunately the lady on reception wasn’t, never saw her smile once, no eye contact, no nothing. Mmm , could do better, after finding our room, through a labyrinth of corridors, with some places thread bare carpet, we found our room, with an old saying “ couldn’t swing a cat” , room very clean and bathroom too.
Evening entertainment was ok, what one would expect, breakfast the same , but I must say Scrambled egg was lovely,
I have stayed in many hotels, but my advice for the St Ives, with your location and amenities “could do better “

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank _marishkamush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Ives_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your constructive review.
I hope that you will consider us again on your next trip to St.Annes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Super hotel. Great friendly staff,nice rooms, great breakfast and superb children's entertainment both during the day and evening. The only downside was the cost of drinks. £5 for two glasses of diet coke is a bit steep but we will definately return

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BoltonTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St_Ives_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the St Ives Hotel. It is always great to read that customer's want to return. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Booked for group of 9 (adults and children). Room was awful and unsafe and was an annex to the main building (dungeon). Dangerous steep stairs leading to the cellar which was to be our room. Also had a fire exit door off what would have been a room for the children which led directly outside! The room was only made up to sleep 6 (which included very small double beds).. we had booked and paid for 9. Only 3 towel provided in the room. Only 1 small and dirty bathroom. 3 of the beds were camp beds which would not have been suitable for anyone sleeping on.
Complained to reception and other than separating our party into different rooms (which couldnt be done without separating families) there solution was to give us our deposit back (as a gesture of goodwill) and send us home. With some very upset children and a few hours wasted of our holiday trying to resolve with decided to check in next door at the Dalemeny. A little more expensive but well worth the money and the staff were brilliant at accommodating our last minute check in and making our holiday enjoyable. Mistakes happen but the customer service from the reception manager was disgusting despite her colleague acknowledging the error made. The room they put us in should not be offered to anyone let alone paying guests. Dont waste your money and family time at this hotel!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, General Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

It is a shame that you did not like the room allocated for your group. We do not have rooms that specifically cater for 9 people, however at the time of booking our receptionist looked at options and offered an apartment room with space that could accommodate the size of your party which would always have meant that some of the children in your party would have to sleep on zbeds/sofa beds. Please be assured these beds are intended to be slept on. Although there are stairs to this particular room they are not dangerous as a handrail is provided, and as it is a lower ground room there does need to be a fire escape out of the room in the event of an emergency. We would not allow children to stay in the room on their own and therefore the parents would be responsible for supervising the children in the room. Please note this room was not in the annex, it was attached to the main building and the room could be accessed through the hotel.

We are not aware you had any issues with the cleanliness of the bathroom and the bathroom was a standard size however we appreciate that it may have been a little tight for 9 people using the facility.

Our staff offered you a number of options, another interconnecting apartment room, 3 seaview family rooms all next to each other, an interconnecting family of 5 seaview room and 2 family of 4 rooms next to each other. We are sorry that you did not wish to accept any of these alternatives and that you chose to stay at a neighbouring hotel.

I feel that our reception team and our reception manager did all that they could to try and resolve the situation.As a goodwill gesture we offered you your deposit back as this deposit was non refundable and we had offered you a number of suitable alternative accommodation options.

At £300 dinner bed and breakfast for 9 people, we feel that this was good value in comparison to the alternative at the Dalmeny of £450 bed and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Requested a refurbished room on booking and did not receive this, so requested another room on arrival which was lovely but window would not shut!! Phoned reception and was told ‘oh yes that is one of the rooms waiting for a replacement window’. Moved to third room which seemed ok, but the next morning when putting the toilet seat down found blood splatters all around the toilet seat and floor! Also, the toothbrush holder was disgusting covered in old toothpaste- never cleaned for months!! Shower was virtually unusable, very low pressure. Breakfast wasn’t great but ok apart from the fresh orange and apple juice which was tasteless as watered down so much! Spoke to reception and they were shocked and would investigate and have the Manager phone me back. Received call from Reception Manager on Wednesday after departure who said she would investigate and phone me back but nothing. Phoned again this morning and received no call back!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sooz422018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Webb, General Manager at St. Ives Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Sorry for the delay in responding as I was investigating the issues you mentioned on check out. Further to our telephone conversation I have spoken to our team and I have responded to your concerns through email. Please contact if you wish to discuss any further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews