We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel & a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Du13
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Hotel is a bit outdated, but well maintained furniture and service is just wonderful. bathroom excellent except for the sink, it had one tap for hot & another for cold so it was not convenient in Feb to use only one..washing your hands as simple as it sounds was difficult.

Room Tip: Breakfast was very limited, but just good enough (basics were served). Also, this is 45min drive fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Du13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Du13, Thank you for your recent review. As we are refurbishing all the bedrooms at present (12 completed so far and 12 more planned before July 2012), you will be pleased to know that all the taps are being replaced to a single unit. I'm delighted that you found the service to be wonderful but disappointed with your comment that breakfast was limited as we usually receive great feedback in this area. I will discuss with our Head Chef to see how we could improve our menu.
Kind regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    77
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
85
131
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice in January for a total of 5 nights.

Good Points
- Friendly Staff
- Good Food
- Free Wifi
- Good location
- Good size rooms

Bad Points
- hotel is very dated...needs refurbishing
- Floor boards creak a lot
- 1 morning had no hot water. (this was only 1 morning out of 5)
- I don't think the price is justified
- Room service menu is expensive
- 1 of the rooms i had, the shower guard was not big enough for the bath, so the floor gets completely soaked when taking a shower

Overall
- I will be back there this month for 1 night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junior_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear junior_patel, Thank you for your recent review. I am obviously pleased with the good points you mention and I see the bad points as constructive feedback which I am acting upon. Hopefully you will start to notice changes in the future but I am sure Reception would be delighted to show you the refurbished bedrooms during your next visit.
Kind regards
Victoria Tipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

My fourth visit to this hotel. On a cold day it is a relief to get there, warm and comfortable, welcoming staff, quiet rooms (even overlooking the sea front) with lovely soft fluffy towels in the bathroom. The breakfast is great and the lounge a good place to blob out with that book you never seem to get time to read.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear airbus0320, Thank you for your recent review. I'm pleased that you found the Clifton Arms Hotel to be so welcoming and comfortable. We pride ourselves on the standard of food, service and facilities which we offer our customers so your feedback is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Victoria Tipper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have just returned home from having our wedding at the clifton arms hotel.the hotel,the staff,the food EVERYTHING was just perfect.Bernard was just brilliant, he made everything so easy from the first day we chose to be married there till the minute we checked out!we stayed 3 nights in a newly refurbished room and it was just beautiful.the breakfast was amazing and the staff really cant do enough for you and they are always smiling.Our wedding day just wouldnt have been the same anywhere else...thankyou see you next January for our first anniversary :-)

Room Tip: The veiws from the front of the hotel over the bay are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Catherine, Thank you for your recent review. We're delighted that your wedding day was everything you could have wished for and thank you for choosing us to be part of your special day. We look forward to welcoming you again in January, if not before.

Kind regards

Victoria Tipper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My mother and sister we booked for Xmas at the hotel.The hotel is badly in need of refurbishment.The standard of room was more like a Welcome Break hotel.The breakfasts were good.However on certain days the restaurant was closed for lunch.A disaapointment for elderley people who had booked for a long Xmas break.Discussions with the manager were greeted with a surly response.The lounge area is a collection of old mismatched furniture.
The Hotel relies on its enviable position and historical connections with past guests including various conservative party leaders.This is no longer the case.My mother was extremely upset having returned to the Hotel.The venue of her wedding reception some 60 years ago also mine.
Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squashplayer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftonGM, General Manager at Clifton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Squashplayer04, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We are undergoing an extensive refurbishment programme which includes all the bedrooms and public areas so improvements are already here for customers to see and experience. Your comment about the restaurant being closed for lunch over the Christmas period has me confused. I apologise on behalf of the member of staff who you found unhelpful but the only day that the restaurant was closed was Boxing Day as we were serving Festive Afternoon Tea which was clearly stated in our Christmas House Party package. I would welcome you to contact me directly so that we can discuss this further as constructive feedback is always helpful.

Kind regards

Victoria Tipper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
4.3 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
4.1 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.1 km away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Arms Hotel

Property: Clifton Arms Hotel
Address: | West Beach, Lytham St Anne's FY8 5QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,045 - ₹ 13,009
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Clifton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Clifton Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing