We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Times Past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Times Past”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Recently stayed 2 nights on a golfing trip and was very impressed. Check in was not as slick as it should be when I ask where my room was situated no one seemed to know, but I found it in the end. It was a room at the rear of the hotel up two flights of stairs no lift and first impressions were not great the bath was of an age where cleaning had long since removed the shine and the view was dismal looking out on to a wall but to be fair it was clean and reasonable well fitted out. But in the rest of the Hotel the staff were pleasant and the food was reasonably priced and cooked to a very good standard with good service which in a way made up for the shortfall of the room.I think one has to take into account the age of the Hotel and realise it will never be a slick ultramodern Hotel but it is well run clean and warm. The rooms I saw overlooking the sea were much smarter and well furnished .

Room Tip: The two rooms overlooking the sea that i saw were very roomy with nice views and furnished to a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hi There ,

I am plesaed that you enjoined your golfing trip here with us at the hotel we certainly enjoyed having you all , thank you for your comments regarding the hotel it is true that we are over 100 years old and as such ther may be the odd creak here and there , the bathroom that you mentioned is one of the last 4 to be refurbished within the hotel.
I am afraid you may have got swept along up to your room without direction as there were so many of you checking in together , however rest assured we haven't found any of your party still wandering the corridors as yet !!!
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    260
    105
    33
    21
See reviews for
225
348
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

this hotel is ideally located on the prom of lytham st annes. it is an easy 10 minute stroll to the town centre where all amenities can be found. the hotel itself is a lovely old building but as can be expected the rooms are the normal sanitised large hotel chain clean and functional but lacking in any originality..the staff are extremely helpfull and efficient and nothing is too much trouble. the one complaint i do have is the bar . there is one draught beer and a small whiskey and water was £5 05 this pricing policy accounts for small useage of the bar by the guests.. overall i enjoyed my break and would certainly recommend this hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: stairs to the first floor bedrooms are fairly steep, the less mobile should book into roms serviced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianauldbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Hello there,
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us at the hotel , we are actually independently owned and managed thus we have free reign within the hotel to furnish and decorate as we please. I think by the sound of it you may have had a more recent room at the rear of the hotel which are indeed all identical on that floor. It would be great if you came to see us again to show you some of more characterfull and spacious rooms of which we have many please contact me directly so that I may arrange a complimentry upgrade should you wish to return.
Our bar prices are in line with all the establishments in the area of our quality , which I again appreciate may not be as reasonable as the local pub, however again I hope this will not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Best Regards
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Everything about this Best Western Hotel is faultless - staff are friendly and so well trained, rooms are spotless and very well appointed, meals deserve an accolade, public rooms have a lovely atmosphere. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day Dinner Bed & Breakfast break at the end of August - we opted for a sea view room which had fabulous views looking out to the Irish sea - the sunsets were spectacular !
The 4 day break was very good value given the high standards and amenities of this Hotel and the quality and variety of breakfasts and dinner. Over the years we have both stayed at Hotels all over the Uk and abroad both on business and on holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending the Glendower Promenade Hotel as a top class establishment.
We also enjoyed the location of the Hotel - ideal for a stroll along the sea front or to the St Annes shops - Lytham and Blackpool are also on the doorstep - and there is plenty of car parking at the front of the Hotel.
Well done staff and management - we will certainly stay again at the Glendower next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Good Afternoon
I would like to thank you for your terrific review of our hotel , and of the surrounding areas the best thing about the sunsets apart from their beauty is they are absolutely free mother nature at her best you might say.
I have relayed your positive commenmts to the Head chef and his team regarding the food , we are in actually fact hoping to get The Taste Lancashire food award shortly which will be great for the hotel!!
We very much hope you will return and see us again at the hotel.
Once again many thanks
Best Wishes
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minx41
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The four of us stayed there from 31 August to 2 September 2012. I can only say that the staff really made our stay enjoyable. They were so kind and helpful and a good laugh.

I would not hesitate to stay there again and would recommend anyone to stay there too. IT's the way you should be treated in a hotel.

From the waiters to the receptionists to the bar staff; everyone was bright, breezy and extremely friendly. It will be difficult to match the sort of serve we received at this hotel elsewhere!

Congratulations to Vicky's team: Joel, Jimbo and everyone else and thanks especially to the lovely Diane who worked behind the bar. My sister was so happy you retrieved her wine.

THANK YOU. Amanda de Souza

Room Tip: Sea view room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minx41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Good Morning
Wow , what an accolade !! We value your business very much and I can honestly say it is not a chore to make our guests feel welcome and to serve you as well as we possibly can .
Its a delight to hear that you appreciate us and have even taken the time to review us so favourably , hopefully if you are planning a trip to the area in the future you would consider staying with us again , it would be great to see you all again!!
Best Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Had 4 night stay with elderly mother and we were provided with fantastic room next to lift. Loved the atmosphere and great situation of hotel. Hotel staff so kind and friendly and food good. Lots to do within walking distance of the hotel, from bracing walk on beach to a wander around shops. Took bus into Lytham, the little town buzzing and some great shops. Will be back!!

Room Tip: If you have trouble negotiating stairs there a few sea view rooms on first floor close to lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaC72, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Good Morning ,
Thank you for the great comments on the team and the hotel they are much appreciated , we do strive to ensure that all our clients are made to feel as comfortable as possible during their stay with us and I shall pass on your feedback , hopefully you will choose to revisit us at some pony in the future.
With Many Thanks
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.7 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
705 reviews
0.6 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
850 reviews
1.3 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
916 reviews
0.8 km away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
380 reviews
0.5 km away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
Address: North Promenade | St Annes on Sea, Lytham St Anne's FY8 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,144 - ₹ 10,702
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished 3 star Best Western Glendower Hotel in Lytham St Annes is a beautiful period building ideally situated in one of the finest seafront positions on the Fylde Coast, yet located just 3 miles outside Britain's largest family resort of Blackpool. The 60-bed hotel is surrounded by four championship golf courses including the world famous Royal Lytham less than two miles away. We pride ourselves on offering a value-for-money hotel experience, which emphasizes good living in comfortable surroundings in a resort renowned for its elegance. But we are especially proud of our commitment to good food. Food is a passion at the Glendower and our kitchen team have deservedly received many plaudits for their creative flair in the kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lytham St Annes
Best Western Lytham St Anne's
Lytham St Anne's Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing