We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming hotel with a warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orles Barn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orles Barn Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with a warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a charming hotel with a warm welcome. The decor is trendy country style - all farrow and ball style pale green and faded florals. The bar and restaurant areas are lovely - overlooking beautiful gardens. We had two lovely rooms - one very large and the other definitely big enough - very tastefully decorated with views out to those gardens. The owners made us extremely welcome and we were only sorry that we didn't book another night. If you are visiting Baileys Home and Garden it's less than 5 minutes away. You couldn't fault it (and I would be fussy!). Food and accommodation are of a very high standard.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    58
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
31
220
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at Orles Barn (in Orange Pippin - a luxury room and beautiful) over our wedding anniversary and couldn't have had a warmer welcome. The food is excellent (bar one starter), well cooked and plated in generous portions without fussiness. The double glazing meant that road noise was minimal and the general decor is relaxed and comfortable. We shall definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Go for a suite or luxury room - beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suechefUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife booked Orles Barn with the taster menu and an overnight stay as a 50th Birthday treat for me, as I do like good food. The whole event was wonderful, from tea in the lounge on arrival to our room which was spotless.
The taster menu was excellent, Dan the Chef talked with us about our likes/dislikes and changed the ingredients accordingly My wife is fussy with food and with Dan's help she tried many new dishes, which made the experience even more personal. It's taken me years to get my wife to try new dishes, you did it it one evening, well done Dan!
We both loved he relaxed atmosphere and the attention to detail offered by the owners who obviously enjoy and take pride in what they offer.
I stay in many hotels and eat out a lot, which can make me blase about this sort of thing, all I will say is that we will definitely return for longer and explore the area around as that too is quite spectacular.
Brilliant experience.

Room Tip: Book the main bedroom, definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I have just stayed for two nights at the Orles Barn Hotel Ross-on-Wye. Lovely atmosphere run by a very charming couple. Bedrooms of a very high standard. Excellent choice on the menu, and a good choice of wines nlot too expensive. If I had a very small personal complaint it was the lack of vegtables, other than that minor detail a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We went for the deluxe package, so our room was excellent. We could slightly hear traffic, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 500Trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hfd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

After pestering my husband (not much of a foodie) to take me out for a nice dinner. Not knowing where we were going I was really looking forward to a surprise. I couldnt of been more pleased with his choice. After a warm welcome we were shown to a relaxing lounge area with a log fire and comfy sofas. A bit relaxed you might think, but really in keeping with the amiable but professional service. We decided on the tasting menu, and after a quick chat with the chef, who even managed to impress my normally 'steak and chips' husband, We had a fantastic night. Chatting with other diners in the bar afterwards it was easy to see why the restaurant was so busy. All had thoroughly enjoyed themselves, one couple who were staying the night recomended we should definatly stay the night next time. Who knows, i may be able to convince the other half to a whole night away. Fingers crossed!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.0 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.5 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.6 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orles Barn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orles Barn Hotel

Property: Orles Barn Hotel
Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,931 - ₹ 10,036
Hotel Class:5 star — Orles Barn Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation ideal for everything from a romantic weekend away to a bolt hole from business. Our Grill & Restaurant serves Modern British Local Food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Orles Barn has links back to the 14th & 17th Centuries and the first floor rooms have exposed beams and character features. The south facing garden stretches over an acre and is ideal for wedding receptions. Enjoy Walking? Around the hoterl area are plenty of walks to hand. after you have finihsed you can relax in our cosy bar/lounge with a local drink or maybe just a fresh coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Orles Barn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orles Barn Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing