We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fabulous Find”

The White Lion Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“What a Fabulous Find”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Needed a table for Eight at short notice, as our hotel's restaurant was full. They sent us here and what a delight, the welcome was all you could ask for, the food was fantastic and at a great price, the children with us were made very welcome and loved watching Bailey the resident dog perform his tricks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyB8205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    50
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly service and Great Food”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had booked a large family party here on Sunday. The Room was great, The Food was Fantastic, The Service Excellent. What more can I say but Thank You.
The rest of the restaurant was full and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Guess you may need to book?
If you want somewhere to have a family meal/party then consider booking the White Lion. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeryHappyCustomer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good location and good food”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This pub is in a fantastic location on the banks of the River Wye and is a great spot all year round. PLUS it has a big open fire in the winter and serves really good, well cooked food. Their Sunday lunches are excellent, one of the best in Ross-on-Wye, and reasonably priced.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“a gaol house to eat in if u like”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

fab place upstairs gaol house restaurant bars on windows or bar area to eat or outside tables weather permitting .hosts and linda barmaid are very friendly a great location

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank morocco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great location”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We visited during the bank holiday weekend. Luckily the weather was this us and we sat in the garden overlooking the river. We had food (baguettes and chips) which was lovely. Other meals we could see being served looked good pub grub. This place is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Lion Restaurant also viewed

 
Kerne Bridge, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The White Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing