We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bridge House(Ross-on-Wye)
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 135
US$ 131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveller rating
586
457
141
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
457
141
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictfantastic viewscar parktown centreweekend breakboth nightswithout exceptioncomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Hotel, very clean, friendly staff and food very good. If you are looking for a two or three
day break, The Royal will not disappoint you. There are plenty of places to visit,
especially. Symonds Yat. Lovely pub down by the river which serves fabulous food.

Room Tip: You will probably have to pay extra for a delux room, but we have only stayed in budget rooms.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank rosiejones72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words - so pleased you enjoyed your mini break!
Rob
Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We had dinner here on two occasions, sitting on the balcony with panoramic views over the Hereford countryside, the food in reasonably priced and good. It can be busy when the sun is out, 3 deep at the bar. Bar staff react to those who shout loudest as they have no idea who is next to be served. Waiting staff are pretty slow when it comes to clearing tables and I did see a impatient older couple get up and walk out with stopping.
It is not much effort to clear it yourself and put it somewhere where the staff can see it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davelanders2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guests,
Pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. It would seem so far this year each day is busier than the one before! we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us.
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We had a party of 6 ,all had different choices, but overall we left contented and well treated, the 2 dads in our party were awarded an engraved beer glass as a fathers day gift. The royal has been a choice for family meetings for a while now, I hope it continues, Thankyou Sally and your Excellent team.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Trevor,
You are so very welcome, we are so pleased you continue to enjoy your visits with us here at the Royal. See you soon!
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

The overall experience here was good. We visited a couple of months back as a stop on the way home. The views and food was great but I am gluten free and when I asked the waitress behind the bar about gluten free options she said anything with a cross marked next to it. Once I looked at these I questioned her as it seemed all of these were fish dishes, many with batter on. A waiter came and corrected here, giving me the allergen menu. This would not have been a issue as I am aware to check on these things however the waitress just shrugged her shoulders and said ‘oh well that was what I was told’. No apology and quite rude and potentially could have had serious health consequences had I have not checked. A shame but did not ruin the experience. Would recommend as food came on time and was very nice in the end. Just make sure your staff are aware of allergies is all I would say.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank hebehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback - please accept our sincerest apologies. Our staff are trained to provide the allergen menu to all guests should a need arise, whether they feel they can remember details about dishes or not. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we will ensure a refresher for a team members.
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely hotel with my elderly mum. Friendly staff, clean and tidy, excellent food with very varied menu and generous portions, great location, on site parking. My mum has problems walking but the hotel accommodated her well.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank PBLD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guest,
I am so pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us here - despite our property not having our lift we will always do our best to ensure that guests with mobility needs are as well looked after as we can throughout their visit with us.
Rob, Lead Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews