We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilton Court Restaurant

Wilton Court Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 49
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The 3 course lunch menu at £17.50 is excellent value. There are three or four choices per course, and our choice (terrine, and salmon for starters; sea bass, and chicken; both agreed on bread and butter pudding for dessert) was very enjoyable. You are sometimes struggling to choose something from a fixed choice menu, but there was plenty of choice, and the other possible choices all sounded good.There are some slightly unusual touches (eg sweet potato, red cabbage etc) which were all very good. The view across the river was wonderful, and (if a little warmer) there is an outside garden overlooking the river. We have eaten at a number of Herefordshire restaurants that have won the county's Food Awards, and consider that they are a 'quality mark' that are definitely worth considering.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lecturer1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    33
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch at its superb best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We met with two friends on Sunday 29 January for Sunday lunch. Drinks in the beautifully warm bar in front of a lovely fire. Menus chosen and later we were ushered to our table in the conservatory.
The food was beautiflly cooked and served with my gluten free requirements all catered for. The service was quietly unobtrusive and performed before one needed to ask for anything.
The menu was varied to include all tastes and both starters and desserts were just that little bit different. We can highly recommend Wilton Court in all its aspects.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jewy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Again - unimpressed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We decided to give Wilton Court another go as they had just won "Restaurant of the year" for Herefordshire.
Well - the steak was served on stone cold plates and was over done - waitress was lovely and immediately dealt with the situation. The owners were more than drunk and when the lady owner came to our table I could see other diners being embaressed for us - really unproffesional!!
The lady owner was staggering and slurring her words......I really did feel for the staff who were quite aware of the awkwardness that we both felt..........just a very, very odd night out and not one that I will repeat!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MonmouthBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of our very favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I visited Wilton Court for the first time last year and enjoyed it so much we knew we had to come back. (See our prior hotel/restaurant review of October 1, 2010). The proprietors, Helen and Roger Wynn, are restaurateurs extraordinaire. They are kind and attentive to their guests and care deeply about the quality of food and service they provide. Their staff is well trained and professional, striking just the right balance between friendly and reserved.

We live in Los Angeles, and chose to journey to Wilton Court to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We came back in large measure for the food. It is just superb. The ingredients, the preparation and the presentation are flawless. I wish we lived close enough to visit the restaurant much more frequently.

Wilton Court is a very special place. Treat yourself and go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFlyer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal, excellent service and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We awoke this morning with a smile on our faces and that was due to how well everything went for the lunch we held for my mother's 90th birthday yesterday. Wilton Court really did us proud. Everybody was so pleasant and welcoming.

The meals were absolutely delicious and I heard nothing but praise from our 19 guests about how good it was. I am so glad that I was able to book the whole event with Wilton Court.

The staff were so efficient and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We really could not have had a better day. All our friends were really impressed with Wilton Court.

Everything was perfect and very many thanks go to Helen and her staff for all the hard work, brilliant organisation and fabulous food. I would recommend Wilton Court to anyone who wants to hold such an event and we will certainly book something else with them some time in the future.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilton Court Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Walford, Ross-on-Wye
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Wilton Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing